Home About Us Organization chart Bioethics and Animal Welfare

Service

Bioethics and Animal Welfare


Organization chart : Fabienne Rauw


Head of the service:

Fabienne Rauw

Tel : +32 (0)2/ 379 13 21

Fax : +32 (0)2/ 379 03 37

Gsm : +32 (0)495 10 63 26

E-mail : This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it









Tasks and Mission


BioethicsWith respect to basic research and the fight against animal diseases, scientists at CODA-CERVA have to use laboratory animals to study the infections, make diagnoses and conduct checks on medicines, when alternative methods are not available. They are mainly small rodents, poultry, and a small number of cattle, sheep and pigs.

The "Bioethics" department provides guidance and support to CODA-CERVA researchers when carrying out such experiments and ensures that the animals are accommodated and handled as well as possible. The department moreover ensures that the tests are carried out in accordance with the most recent legislation relating to the protection of research animals and that they are compliant with the relevant European directives.

CODA-CERVA is endeavouring to use laboratory animals as little as possible, and where possible, to give preference to experiments in the laboratory rather than on animals. To that end, the "Bioethics" department keeps the scientists informed about new methods of experimentation and improvements relating to those methods.

The scientists of CODA-CERVA and of WIV-ISP (Scientific Institute of Public Health), accompanied by external scientists, form an independent and recognised Ethics Committee, which boasts expertise in ethics, alternative methods to animal experimentation, animal health and well-being, experimental techniques, experiment management and statistical analysis.

The purpose of this Ethics Committee is to:

  • assess animal experiment requests by scientists from the two institutions in accordance with the principle of the 3 Rs (Reduction, Replacement and Refinement),
  • issue recommendations on the matter to scientists,
  • propose any changes or other possibilities, and
  • give its authorisation for animal experiments to be conducted as and where needed.


Composition of the Team


Tel
Fax
E-mail
Rauw Fabienne+32 (0)2/ 379 13 21+32 (0)2/ 379 03 37 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Mori Marcella+32 (0) 2 379 04 43+32 (0)2 379 06 70 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Rauw Fabienne+32 (0)2/ 379 13 21+32 (0)2/ 379 03 37 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Home About Us Organigramme Bioéthique et bien-être animal

Service

Bioéthique et bien-être animal


Organigramme : Fabienne Rauw


Responsable du service:

Fabienne Rauw

Tel : +32 (0)2/ 379 13 21

Fax : +32 (0)2/ 379 03 37

Gsm : +32 (0)495 10 63 26

E-mail : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.









Tâches et Mission


BioethicsDans le cadre de la recherche fondamentale et de la lutte contre les maladies animales, les scientifiques du CODA-CERVA sont obligés d'avoir recours à des animaux de laboratoire pour étudier les infections, établir des diagnostics ou effectuer des contrôles sur les médicaments, lorsque des méthodes alternatives ne sont pas disponibles. Il s'agit principalement de petits rongeurs, de volailles et d'un petit nombre de bovins, de moutons et de porcs.

Le service « Bioéthique » accompagne les chercheurs du CODA-CERVA lors de la réalisation de ces expériences et s'assure que les animaux sont hébergés et manipulés aussi bien que possible. Le service veille à ce que les essais soient réalisés en vertu de la législation la plus récente relative à la protection des animaux d'expérience et soient conformes aux directives européennes en la matière.

Le CODA-CERVA s'efforce d'avoir le moins possible recours aux animaux de laboratoire, et s'il le peut, de toujours privilégier les expériences en laboratoire plutôt que celles sur les animaux. Dans ce but, le service « Bioéthique » tient également les scientifiques informés des nouvelles méthodes d'expérimentation mises au point et des améliorations relatives à ces méthodes.

Les scientifiques du CODA-CERVA et du WIV-ISP (Institut scientifique de Santé Publique) accompagnés de scientifiques externes forment une Commission d'Ethique (CdE) indépendante et reconnue. Les expertises en matière d'éthique, de méthodes alternatives à l'expérimentation animale, de santé et de bien-être animal ainsi qu'en matière de techniques expérimentales, de direction d'expérience et d'analyse statistique y sont représentées.

Cette CdE a pour but :

  • d'évaluer les demandes d'expériences animales émanant des scientifiques des deux instituts selon le principe des 3 R's (Réduction, Remplacement et Raffinement),
  • d'émettre des recommandations en la matière aux scientifiques,
  • de proposer éventuellement des modifications ou d'autres possibilités et
  • de donner son autorisation, le cas échéant, à la réalisation des expériences animales.


Composition de l'équipe


Tel
Fax
E-mail
Rauw Fabienne+32 (0)2/ 379 13 21+32 (0)2/ 379 03 37 Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.
Mori Marcella+32 (0) 2 379 04 43+32 (0)2 379 06 70 Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.
Rauw Fabienne+32 (0)2/ 379 13 21+32 (0)2/ 379 03 37 Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.