Print E-mail

Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) ( Anthrax )

OTHER NAMES :

Splenic fever, Malignant edema, Woolsorter's disease, Ragpicker's disease

 

B.Anthracis
Gram stain picture of Bacillus anthracis (1500X magnification).

The cells have characteristic squared ends.

The endospores are ellipsoidal shaped and located centrally in the sporangium

The spores are highly refractile to light and resistant to staining.

 


GENERAL INFORMATION :

  • Bacteria; Firmicutes; Bacilli; Bacillales; Bacillaceae; Bacillus; Bacillus cereus group
  • Notifiable Disease : Yes

IN A FEW LINES :

Anthrax is a zoonotic disease caused by Bacillus anthracis. It occurs in domesticated and wild animals (primarily herbivores, including goats, sheep, cattle, horses, and swine). Humans usually become infected by contact with infected animals or contaminated animal products. Infection occurs most commonly via the cutaneous route and only very rarely via the respiratory or gastrointestinal routes.

 

Anthrax was intimately associated with the origins of microbiology and immunology, being the first disease for which a microbial origin was definitively established (in 1876, by Robert Koch). It also was the first disease for which an effective live bacterial vaccine was developed (in 1881, by Louis Pasteur).

 

During the latter half of the 19th century, a previously unrecognized form of anthrax appeared for the first time, namely, inhalational anthrax. This occurred among woolsorters in England, due to the generation of infectious aerosols of anthrax spores under industrial conditions, from the processing of contaminated goat hair and alpaca wool. It probably represents the first described occupational respiratory infectious disease.

 

Owing to the infectiousness of anthrax spores by the respiratory route and the high mortality of inhalational anthrax, the military's concern with anthrax is with its potential use as a biological weapon.

 

Human cases in Belgium are exceptional and are almost exclusively imported cases (last case reported was cutaneous anthrax in a Belgian traveler returning from Botswana in 2005). The last case in a Belgian animal occurred in a cow found dead in 1988.

 

ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSIS :

CODA-CERVA is the Belgian national reference laboratory (man and animal) for anthrax.

- Isolation (from both clinical and environmental samples)

- Molecular diagnostique (PCR)

- Serological diagnostic in humans (anti-PA ELISA, on request only)

  • RESEARCH :
Monitoring of the immunological status of professionally-exposed humans and study of risk factors.

  • EXPERTISE :

The laboratory has the necessary authorizations and premises to grow the anthrax bacillus in safe conditions. The personnel is experienced with the isolation and identification of B. anthracis from suspect clinical samples (sputum, blood, organs) or environmental samples (dust, wastewater, sludge).


SCIENTIST RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS TOPIC :

Pierre Wattiau


CODA-CERVA PUBLICATION :

2009

- P.Wattiau, Govaerts M., Frangoulidis D., Fretin D., Kissling E., Van Hessche M., China B., Poncin M., Pirenne Y., and Hanquet G. Immunological response of unvaccinated workers exposed to anthrax spores, Belgium. Emerging Infectious Diseases 15 (2009) 1637-1640

2008

- P. Wattiau, Klee SR, Fretin D, Van Hessche M, Ménart M, Franz T, Chasseur C, Butaye P, Imberechts H. Occurrence and genetic diversity of Bacillus anthracis strains isolated in an active wool-cleaning factory. Appl Environ Microbiol. 2008 Jul;74(13):4005-4011

Home Recherche Scientifique Bactériologie Charbon bactérien (Anthrax)
Imprimer Envoyer

Maladie du charbon (Bacillus anthracis)( Anthrax)

AUTRES NOMS :

Fièvre splénique, Œdème malin, Maladie des trieurs de laine, Maladie des chiffonniers

 

 

B. anthracis
Image en coloration de Gram de Bacillus anthracis (agrandissement 1500 fois).

Les cellules présentent des extrémités carrées caractéristiques.

Les endospores sont ellipsoïdales et occupent une position centrale dans le sporange.

Les spores sont très réfringentes à la lumière et résistent à la coloration.

 


INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES :

  • Bactéries ; Firmicutes ; Bacilles ; Bacillales ; Bacillaceae ; Bacillus ; groupe Bacillus cereus
  • Maladie à déclaration obligatoire : Oui

EN QUELQUES LIGNES :

La maladie du charbon est une maladie zoonotique causée par Bacillus anthracis. Elle se manifeste chez les animaux domestiques et sauvages (principalement les herbivores, dont les chèvres, les moutons, le bétail, les chevaux et les porcs). Les humains l'attrapent généralement suite à un contact avec des animaux infectés ou des produits d'origine animale contaminés.

 

L'infection se transmet généralement par voie cutanée et très rarement par voie respiratoire ou gastro-intestinale. La maladie du charbon est intimement associée aux origines de la microbiologie et de l'immunologie puisqu'il s'agit de la première maladie dont l'origine microbienne a pu être définitivement établie

(en 1876, par Robert Koch). Il s'agit également de la première maladie pour laquelle un vaccin bactérien vivant a été développé (en 1881, par Louis Pasteur).

 

 

Pendant la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, une forme encore non identifiée de maladie du charbon, que l'on a appelée charbon inhalatoire, est apparue. Elle s'est manifestée chez les trieurs de laine en Angleterre, à la suite de la génération d'aérosols infectieux de spores de charbon dans des conditions industrielles à partir du traitement de poils de chèvres contaminées et de laine d'alpaca. Il s'agit probablement de la première maladie infectieuse respiratoire professionnelle.

 

Vu le caractère infectieux des spores de charbon par voie respiratoire et le taux de mortalité élevé engendré par le charbon inhalatoire, son utilisation en tant qu'arme biologique a été envisagée.

 

Les cas humains recensés en Belgique sont exceptionnels et sont presque exclusivement des cas importés (le dernier cas signalé était un cas de charbon cutané relevé chez un voyageur belge de retour du Botswana en 2005). Le dernier cas relevé sur un animal belge a d'autre part été identifié sur une vache retrouvée morte en 1988.

 

RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSTIC

Le CODA-CERVA est laboratoire de référence national belge pour la maladie du charbon (pour les hommes et les animaux).

- Isolement (depuis des échantillons cliniques et environnementaux)

- Diagnostic moléculaire (PCR)

- Diagnostic sérologique chez les humains (ELISA anti-PA, sur demande uniquement)

  • RECHERCHE

Contrôle du statut immunologique des humains professionnellement exposés et étude des facteurs de risque.

  • EXPERTISE

Le laboratoire dispose des autorisations et des locaux nécessaires pour cultiver le bacille du charbon dans des conditions sûres. Le personnel dispose de l'expérience nécessaire pour l'isolement et l'identification de B. anthracis à partir d'échantillons cliniques suspects (expectorations, sang, organes) ou d'échantillons environnementaux (poussières, eaux usées, boues d'épuration).

SCIENTIFIQUE RESPONSABLE DE CE SUJET :

Pierre Wattiau


PUBLICATIONS CODA-CERVA :

2009

- P.Wattiau, Govaerts M., Frangoulidis D., Fretin D., Kissling E., Van Hessche M., China B., Poncin M., Pirenne Y., and Hanquet G. Immunological response of unvaccinated workers exposed to anthrax spores, Belgium. Emerging Infectious Diseases 15 (2009) 1637-1640

2008

- P. Wattiau, Klee SR, Fretin D, Van Hessche M, Ménart M, Franz T, Chasseur C, Butaye P, Imberechts H. Occurrence and genetic diversity of Bacillus anthracis strains isolated in an active wool-cleaning factory. Appl Environ Microbiol. 2008 Jul;74(13):4005-4011