Print E-mail

Endocrine disruptors

CONTEXT

A great deal of substances (contaminants) which we ingest with our food interfere with the hormonal system of humans or animals. This is because they influence the transport, synthesis or metabolism of hormones or interact directly with the hormone receptor, by leading to an effect themselves (agonist) or obstruct the effect of the natural hormone (antagonist).

The "International Programme for Chemical Safety (IPCS)" and other experts describe endocrine disruptors as follows: "An endocrine disruptor is an exogenous substance or mixture that alters function(s) of the endocrine system and consequently causes adverse health effects in an intact organism or its progeny, or (sub)populations." (EC, 1999). These disruptors can be of different origins: natural hormones (from humans or animals); synthetic hormones or pharmaceutical substances (contraception, medicinal products, etc.), natural components (mycotoxins, phytoestrogens, etc.), chemical contaminants (phthalates, organotins, pesticides, dioxins, PCBs, flame retardants, etc.).

Endocrine disruptor

Many health effects can be attributed to the interaction of these substances with (primarily) nuclear hormone receptors. The best known examples are the receptors of the sex hormones oestrogen and androgen which cause effects on reproduction and fertility. Endocrine disruptors can however also interfere with all sorts of receptors that play a role in cell growth, differentiation, development, homeostasis and metabolism. In case of a disruption, this can lead to proliferative, reproductive and metabolic diseases such as cancer, infertility, obesity or diabetes.

ROLE OF CODA-CERVA

Self-financed research

Although eating habits and physical activity are still decisive factors for obesity, increasing attention is being paid to the fact that endocrine disruptors can also play a role. Various mechanisms are known through which endocrine disruptors can contribute to obesity. It has long been known that oestrogens and androgens have an effect on weight. Even more important, however, is the interaction of the Peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor (PRARy) with these endocrine disruptors.

PPARy is the most important regulator of fat development, the activation of which leads to fat cell differentiation (thereby enhancing the glucose intake from the blood). Different agonists for this receptor were linked to weight gain in in vivo studies. Known disruptors via PRARy are tributyltin, triphenyltin and a number of phthalates...Endocrine disruptor

Furthermore, disruption of our thyroid gland or the thyroid system can also lead to weight gain. The thyroid gland and the thyroid receptor (TR) play an important role in central development, basal metabolism, heart activity and homeostasis. Thyroid endocrine disruptors can disrupt the thyroid system at various places (iodium intake, hormone production, hormone intake, conversion between T4 and T3, TR activation and hormone metabolism). This can lead to hypothyroidism or hyperthyroidism. Hypothyroidism refers to a shortage of thyroid hormones T4 and T3. In the foetus this can lead to brain damage and incomplete development, while in adults it can cause primarily cardiovascular diseases. Hyperthyroidism is an overstimulation of the thyroid gland and thus too much T4 and T3, and is associated with accelerated metabolism and enlarged thyroid gland. Known disruptors for the thyroid system are: PCBs, BPA, flame retardants, heavy metals and phthalates.

The focus of our research is on interactions of PPARy and TRb with possible endocrine disruptors (pure or in different food matrices) in our food. A cellular screening system was implemented to that end, namely the chemical-activated luciferase gene expression (CALUX), designed for TRb and PPARy2 (®Bio Detection System, Amsterdam). This is a human cell system in which the receptor in question is transferred safely with a luciferase reporter gene. The agonistic and antagonistic activity of possible endocrine disruptors can be studied in these systems.

SCIENTIFIC TEAMEndocrine disruptor

Karine Vandermeiren
Heidi Demaegdt
Luc Pussemier

Contact : Heidi Demaegdt, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Imprimer Envoyer

Les perturbateurs endocriniens

CONTEXTE

De nombreuses substances (contaminants) que nous ingérons par le biais de notre alimentation interfèrent avec le système hormonal de l'homme ou de l'animal. Cela s'explique par le fait qu'elles influencent le transport, la synthèse ou la métabolisation des hormones ou qu'elles interagissent directement avec le récepteur hormonal, de sorte qu'elles entraînent elles-mêmes un effet (agoniste) ou qu'elles empêchent l'effet de l'hormone naturelle (antagoniste).

 

L'‘International Programme for Chemical Safety (IPCS)' et d'autres experts décrivent les substances hormonoperturbantes comme suit : "Une substance hormonopertubante est une substance ou un mélange exogène perturbant une ou plusieurs fonctions du système endocrinien et, par conséquent, occasionnent des effets nocifs sur la santé dans un organisme intact, sa descendance ou des populations (partielles) de ce dernier". (CE, 1999). Ces perturbateurs hormonaux peuvent être de différentes origines : hormones naturelles (provenant de l'homme et de l'animal) ; hormones de synthèse ou substances pharmaceutiques (contraceptifs, médicaments...), des composants naturels (mycotoxines, phyto-oestrogènes...), des contaminants chimiques (phtalates, organoétains, pesticides, dioxines, PCB, ralentisseurs de flamme...).

 

Perturbateur endocrinien

Bon nombre de ces effets sur la santé sont imputables à l'interaction de ces substances avec (principalement) des hormonorécepteurs nucléaires. Les exemples les plus connus sont les récepteurs des œstrogènes et androgènes, deux hormones sexuelles, qui ont des effets sur la reproduction et la fertilité. Les perturbateurs hormonaux peuvent toutefois aussi agir sur de nombreux récepteurs qui jouent un rôle dans la croissance cellulaire, la différentiation, le développement, l'homéostase et le métabolisme. En cas de perturbation, cela peut déboucher sur des maladies prolifératives, reproductives et métaboliques telles que des cancers, de l'infertilité, de l'obésité ou du diabète.

RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA

Étude autofinancée

Si les habitudes alimentaires et l'activité physique sont encore et toujours déterminantes pour l'obésité, une attention croissante est portée au fait que les perturbateurs hormonaux peuvent eux aussi jouer un rôle en la matière. Il existe différents mécanismes connus par le biais desquels les perturbateurs hormonaux peuvent contribuer à l'obésité. On sait depuis longtemps que les œstrogènes et les androgènes ont un effet sur notre poids. L'interaction des PPARy (Peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor) avec ces perturbateurs hormonaux est toutefois plus importante.

 

Le PPARy est le principal régulateur du développement des tissus adipeux. Son activation débouche sur la différentiation des cellules adipeuses (pour ainsi accroître l'assimilation du glucose dans le sang). DifférentsPerturbateur endocrinien agonistes de ce récepteur ont été liés à une augmentation de poids dans des études in vivo. Parmi les perturbateurs connus via le PPAR, citons le tributylétain, le triphenylétain et plusieurs phtalates...

 

Par ailleurs, une perturbation de notre thyroïde ou du système thyroïdien peut également entraîner une augmentation de poids. La thyroïde et le récepteur des hormones thyroïdiennes (TR) jouent un rôle important dans le développement central, le métabolisme basal, l'activité capillaire et l'homéostase. Les perturbateurs hormonaux de la thyroïde peuvent perturber le système thyroïdien en différents endroits (ingestion d'iode, production hormonale, ingestion d'hormone, conversion entre T4 et T3, activation TR et métabolisme de l'hormone). Cela peut entraîner de l'hypothyroïdisme ou de l'hyperthyroïdisme. L'hypothyroïdisme est une carence en hormones thyroïdiennes T4 et T3. Chez le fœtus, une telle carence peut entraîner des dommages cérébraux et un développement incomplet. Chez les adultes, ce sont surtout les maladies cardiovasculaires qui sont ainsi attisées. L'hyperthyroïdisme est une stimulation excessive de la thyroïde. Un excès de T4 et T3 est donc associé à un métabolisme accéléré et à une thyroïde hypertrophiée. Les perturbateurs connus du système thyroïdien sont : PCB, BPA (bisphénol A), ralentisseurs de flamme, métaux lourds et phtalates.

 

Notre étude met l'accent sur les interactions des PPARy ainsi que TRb avec les perturbateurs hormonaux potentiels (purs ou dans différentes matrices alimentaires) dans notre alimentation. À cet effet, un système de criblage cellulaire a été mis en œuvre, le système CALUX (chemical-activated luciferase gene expression) conçu pour le TRb et le PPARy2 (®Bio Detection System, Amsterdam). Il s'agit d'un système cellulaire humain dans lequel le récepteur en question a été transfecté de façon stable avec un gène rapporteur de la luciférase. Les perturbateurs hormonaux potentiels peuvent être analysés dans ces systèmes sur le plan de leur activité agoniste comme antagoniste.

ÉQUIPEPerturbateur endocrinien SCIENTIFIQUE

Karine Vandermeiren
Heidi Demaegdt

Contact : Heidi Demaegdt, Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.