Home Scientific Research Virology Swine Vesicular Disease (SVD)
Print E-mail

Swine vesicular disease (SVD)

GENERAL INFORMATION :

  • Family: Picornaviridae, genus: Enterovirus
  • Notifiable Disease: Yes

IN A FEW LINES :

Pigs - Swine Vesicular Disease  Swine vesicular disease (SVD) is a contagious viral disease of pigs. SVD may be clinically indistinguishable from foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) en vesicular stomatitis (VS). The differential diagnosis with FMD and VS can be done in the laboratory. Strains of swine vesicular disease virus (SVDV) vary in virulence, and the disease may be subclinical, mild or severe. SVD is a pen disease that spread by direct contact between pigs or indirectly by contact with contaminated faeces and by swill feeding. The resistance of the virus to inactivation may lead to recrudescence.

 

Recently only Italy has reported outbreaks of SVD, but the virus is probably present in other parts of the world too.

 

Diagnosis of the disease is made initially on clinical grounds and subsequently confirmed in the laboratory by classical virological, serological or molecular biological methods. Preferred samples for virus detection are epithelium, vesicular fluid, serum (or EDTA-blood) and faeces (virus isolation, Ag-ELISA, real-time RT-PCR).

 

Since any vesicular condition in pigs may be foot-and-mouth disease, special precautions must be taken for the safe packaging of suspected samples and the laboratory diagnosis of clinical cases of all vesicular virus diseases should be done within biosecure facilities BSL3.
Blood samples from the suspected pigs and in-contact pigs must be taken for serological testing. Faecal samples from those pigs and from the floor of their pen are necessary.

Vaccines are not available and therefore stamping-out will be applied.

 

ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSIS

CODA-CERVA is the Belgian National Reference Laboratory for swine vesicular disease.
OIE (World Organisation for Animal health) Collaborating Centre for Validation, Quality Assessment and Quality Control of Diagnostic Assays and Vaccine Testing for Vesicular Diseases in Europe
Specific information for diagnostics (matrix, tests)
- Virus isolation, Ag-ELISA, real-time RT-PCR: epithelium, vesicular fluid, faeces and serum (or EDTA-blood)
- Serology: serum

  • RESEARCH
Development of diagnostic tools and differential diagnosis.
  • EXPERTISE

The laboratory has the necessary authorizations and facilities to isolate the virus under safe conditions. The personnel are experienced in serological tests, virus isolation and molecular diagnosis of SVD virus from clinical samples.


TEAM OF SCIENTISTS :

Kris De Clercq

David Lefebvre

Ilse de Leeuw
Andy Haegeman

Annebel De Vleeschauwer
Frank Vandensbussche
(mass molecular diagnosis)

 

CODA-CERVA PUBLICATIONS :

2008

- Goris N, Vandenbussche F, De Clercq K. (2008). Potential of antiviral therapy and prophylaxis for controlling RNA viral infections of livestock. Antiviral Res., 78(1):170-8.

2007

- Goris N, De Palma A, Toussaint JF, Musch I, Neyts J, De Clercq K. (2007). 2'-C-Methylcytidine as a potent and selective inhibitor of the replication of foot-and-mouth disease virus. Antiviral Res, 73(3):161-168.

1998

- De Clercq K. (1998). Reduction of singleton reactors against swine vesicular disease virus by a combination of virus neutralisation test, monoclonal antibody-based competitive ELISA and isotype specific ELISA. Journal of Virological Methods, 70, 7-18.

Home Recherche Scientifique Virologie Maladie vésiculeuse du porc (MVP)
Imprimer Envoyer

Maladie vésiculeuse du porc (MVP)

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES :

  • Famille: Picornaviridae, genre: Enterovirus
  • Maladie à déclaration obligatoire : OUI

EN QUELQUES LIGNES :

Maladie vésiculeuse du porc La maladie vésiculeuse du porc (MVP) est une maladie virale contagieuse des porcs. La maladie vésiculeuse du porc peut être cliniquement indiscernable de la fièvre aphteuse (FA) et de la stomatite vésiculeuse (VS). Le diagnostic différentiel avec la fièvre aphteuse et la stomatite vésiculeuse peut être effectué en laboratoire. Les souches du virus de la maladie vésiculeuse du porc (VMVP) ont une virulence variable, et la maladie peut être asymptomatique, bénigne ou sévère. La maladie vésiculeuse du porc est une maladie d'enclos qui se répand par contact direct entre porcs ou indirectement par contact avec les matières fécales contaminées et par les déchets alimentaires. La résistance du virus à l'inactivation peut conduire à une recrudescence.

 

Récemment, seule l'Italie a rapporté l'émergence de cas de maladie vésiculeuse du porc, mais le virus est probablement présent également dans d'autres parties du monde.

 

Le diagnostic de la maladie est fait initialement sur des bases cliniques et ensuite confirmé au laboratoire par des méthodes virologiques, sérologiques ou biologiques moléculaires classiques. Les échantillons préférés pour détecter le virus sont l'épithélium, le fluide vésiculaire, le sérum (ou le sang-EDTA) et les matières fécales (isolement des virus, Ag-ELISA, RT-PCR en temps réel).

 

Etant donné que des symptômes vésiculaires quelconque chez les porcs peuvent être signes de fièvre aphteuse, des précautions particulières doivent être prises pour emballer de manière sûre les échantillons suspects et le diagnostic des cas cliniques de toutes les maladies virales vésiculaires devrait être fait dans des laboratoires de biosécurité de type BSL3.
Des échantillons de sang provenant des porcs suspects et des porcs ayant été en contact avec ceux-ci doivent être prélevés à des fins de test sérologique. Des échantillons de matières fécales provenant de ces porcs et du sol de leur enclos sont nécessaires.

Il n'existe pas de vaccin disponible et l'abattage systématique devra donc être appliqué.

 

RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSTIC

Le CODA-CERVA est le laboratoire national belge de référence pour la maladie vésicleuse du porc.

Centre OIE (Organisation mondiale de la santé animale) de Collaboration pour la Validation, l'Evaluation de la Qualité et le Contrôle Qualité des tests Diagnostiques et les contrôles de Vaccins pour les Maladies Vésiculeuses en Europe

Information spécifique pour le diagnostic (matrice, tests)

-isolement de virus, Ag-ELISA, RT-PCR en temps réel : épithélium, fluide vésiculeux, matières fécales et sérum (ou sang-EDTA)

-sérologie : sérum

  • RECHERCHE

Développement d'outils diagnostiques et diagnostic différentiel.

  • EXPERTISE

Le laboratoire dispose des autorisations et des installations nécessaires pour isoler le virus sans présenter de danger. Le personnel a l'expérience des tests sérologiques, de l'isolement des virus et du diagnostic moléculaire du virus de la maladie vésiculeuse du porc provenant d'échantillons cliniques.


ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE :

Kris De Clercq

David Lefebvre

Ilse de Leeuw
Andy Haegeman

Annebel De Vleeschauwer
Frank Vandensbussche (mass molecular diagnosis)

 

PUBLICATIONS CODA-CERVA :

2008

- Goris N, Vandenbussche F, De Clercq K. (2008). Potential of antiviral therapy and prophylaxis for controlling RNA viral infections of livestock. Antiviral Res., 78(1):170-8.

2007

- Goris N, De Palma A, Toussaint JF, Musch I, Neyts J, De Clercq K. (2007). 2'-C-Methylcytidine as a potent and selective inhibitor of the replication of foot-and-mouth disease virus. Antiviral Res, 73(3):161-168.

1998

- De Clercq K. (1998). Reduction of singleton reactors against swine vesicular disease virus by a combination of virus neutralisation test, monoclonal antibody-based competitive ELISA and isotype specific ELISA. Journal of Virological Methods, 70, 7-18.