Print E-mail

Fluorine - F

CONTEXT :

Fluoride (F)Fluorine is a natural element present in the earth crust. It is the most reactive of all elements and no chemical substance is capable of freeing fluorine from any of its compounds. For this reason, fluorine does not occur free in nature and it was extremely difficult for scientists to isolate.

 

The first recorded use of a fluorine compound dates to around 1670 to a set of instructions for etching glass that called for Bohemian emerald (CaF2). Chemists attempted to identify the material that was capable of etching glass and George Gore was able to produce a small amount of fluorine through an electrolytic process in 1869. Unknown to Gore, fluorine gas explosively combines with hydrogen gas. That is exactly what happened in Gore's experiment when the fluorine gas that was formed on one electrode combined with the hydrogen gas that was formed on the other electrode.

 

Today, fluorine is still produced through the electrolysis of potassium fluoride and hydrofluoric acid as well as through the electrolysis of molten potassium acid fluoride (KHF2).

TOXICITY :

Hydrogen fluoride and to some extend also some particules containing fluoride cause environmental problems. Some plant species belonging to Liliaceae such as gladiolus, tulips,... are extremely sensitive to HF. Fruit trees do not show much effects on their leaves but there can be a dramatic negative effect on fruits (peach, plum, apple, pear,...). Grass species are less sensitive but accumulate easily fluorides in their tissues. Moreover ruminants as very sensitive to fluoride intoxication that is causing teeth mottling, osteoporosis, lameness and death.

 

Fortunately, fluorides are less toxic to humans and fluoride accumulation in vegetables is of minor importance.Fluoride (F)

NORMS AND LEGISLATIONS :

Maximum levels for fluoride in feed
There is a European regulation for feed: Guideline 2002/32/EG of 7 May 2002 in the Journal of the European Union EG L 140/10.

ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

The Trace Element Unit at CODA-CERVA is mainly dedicated to scientific research and services in the field of food safety, public and animal health. It provides analytical facilities for third parties by the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed.

 

Fluorides are determined with a semi automatic analytical device (Metrohm). Fluoride analysis of food and feed were done since the early seventies. Many studies have been carried out around brickworks, fertilizer factories, glass factories,...

SCIENTIST RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS TOPIC :
Nadia Waegeneers

Imprimer Envoyer

Fluor - F

CONTEXTE :

Fluor (F)Le fluor est un élément naturel présent dans l'écorce terrestre. C'est l'élément le plus réactif et aucune substance chimique n'est capable de le libérer d'un quelconque de ses composés. Pour cette raison, le fluor n'existe pas librement dans la nature et il a été extrêmement difficile pour les scientifiques de l'isoler.

 

La première utilisation connue d'un composé fluoré date des environs de 1670 dans un ensemble d'instructions destinées à la gravure du verre qui nécessitaient de l'émeraude de bohème (CaF2). Les chimistes ont essayé d'identifier la substance qui pouvait graver le verre et George Gore a pu produire une petite quantité de fluor par le biais d'un procédé électrolytique en 1869. Ce qui était inconnu de Gore, c'était que le fluor gazeux se combine de manière explosive avec l'hydrogène gazeux. Et c'est exactement ce qui est arrivé dans l'expérience de Gore lorsque le fluor gazeux qui a été formé sur une électrode a été combiné avec l'hydrogène gazeux qui a été formé sur l'autre électrode.

 

Aujourd'hui, le fluor est encore produit par le biais de l'électrolyse de fluorure de potassium et d'acide fluorhydrique ainsi que par le biais de l'électrolyse de bifluorure de potassium fondu (KHF2).


TOXICITÉ :

Le fluorure d'hydrogène, et également dans une certaine mesure certaines particules contenant du fluorure, entraîne des problèmes environnementaux. Certaines espèces de plantes appartenant aux Liliaceae comme les gladiolus, les tulipes,... sont extrêmement sensibles au HF. On n'observe pas beaucoup d'effet sur les feuilles des arbres fruitiers mais on peut observer un effet négatif spectaculaire sur les fruits (pêches, prunes, pommes, poires, ...). Les espèces de graminées sont moins sensibles mais accumulent facilement les fluorures dans leurs tissus. De plus, les ruminants sont très sensibles à l'intoxication aux fluorures entraînant la fluorose dentaire, l'ostéoporose, l'impotence et la mort.Fluor (F)

 

Heureusement, les fluorures sont moins toxiques pour l'homme et l'accumulation des fluorures dans les végétaux a une moindre importance.


NORMES ET LÉGISLATIONS :

Teneurs maximales en fluorure dans l'alimentation
Il existe une réglementation européenne pour l'alimentation : Directive 2002/32/EG du 7 mai 2002 dans le journal de l'union européenne EG L 140/10.


RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

L'unité "éléments traces "du CODA-CERVA se consacre principalement à la recherche scientifique et aux services dans le domaine de la sécurité alimentaire, de la santé publique et animale. Elle fournit des installations analytiques pour de tierces parties pour la détermination des éléments-traces dans les aliments et l'alimentation animale.

Les fluorures sont détectés grâce à un appareil analytique semi-automatique (Metrohm). On procède a des analyses de fluorure dans les aliments et la nourriture pour animaux depuis les début des années 1970. De nombreuses études ont été menées aux alentours de briqueteries, d'usines d'engrais ,de verre,...


SCIENTIFIQUE RESPONSABLE DE CE SUJET :
Nadia Waegeneers