Print E-mail

Selenium - Se

GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE ELEMENT :

Selenium (metal): CAS N°: 7782-49-2

-atomic number: 34
-atomic weight: 78,96 (stable isotopes 76Se, 77Se, 78Se, 80Se, (82Se))
-melting point: 221°C
-boiling point: 685°C


IN A FEW LINES :

Selenium, like many other trace elements, is a natural constituent of the earth's crust. Its concentration in soils varies hugely among regions of the world, ranging from 0.1 µg/kg in Se deficient areas, to over 1000 mg/kg in seleniferous areas.

 

Production of Se occurs most frequently from selenide, a Se-compound which is present in sulphide ores, such as those of copper or lead. The largest human use of Se is as a (de)colouring agent in glass en ceramic manufacturing. It is also widely used as a catalyst in chemical reactions, in electronics, and in the toning of photographic prints. Biological uses of Se include the use of SeS2 as the active ingredient in some drandruff shampoos, and its use in vitamin preparations or other food supplements.

Selenium (Se)

 

Indeed, after the initial focus on Se as a potential toxic element, its essentiality as a trace nutrient (essential for good health!) became recognized in the middle of the last century. Several epidemiological studies and laboratory trials have shown that Se helps to reduce cancer risk and cardiovascular diseases, and helps to improve immune system functions. Specific cases of Se deficiency have been reported e.g. in the Keshan region of China where Se content in soil and food is extremely low (Keshan disease, characterised by an enlarged heart and a reduced heart function). In various circumstances food supplementation of Se (either as food supplement, either as Se-enriched food) has successfully been used to improve the Se -nutrition of Se-deficient people.

 

On the other hand, too high levels of Se-intake cause selenosis, a syndrome characterized by hair loss, fingernails brittleness, skin and liver damage, and, even, at higher levels, neurotoxicity. Such adverse health effects of Se have been reported among others in people and in cattle in seleniferous areas, including the northern great plains of the USA, parts of Venezuela, Colombia, India and China.

 

An important aspect related to Se-intake is that Se in food and food supplements can be present in different chemical forms or species that, after entering the human body, have not the same solubility, absorption, metabolism, and hence bioavailability. This means that the effect of Se (beneficial or toxic) depends not only on the quantity but also on the chemical form of the element.

 

Additional research is necessary to gain more insight in the conditions that lead to an optimal Se-nutrition (optimal health effect). Selenium (Se)The collection of data on Se-speciation in foodstuff on the one hand, and the determination of the most bio-active Se compounds and food sources on the other hand, may contribute to this.

 

Classification according to Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of 16 December 2008 :
Index number: 034-001-00-2
Acute Tox. 3*; H301: toxic if swallowed
Acute Tox. 3*; H331: toxic if inhaled
Stot Re2: H373: May cause damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure.

Aquatic Chronic 4; H413: May cause long lasting harmful effects to aquatic life.
Reference: Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 december 2008 on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, amending and repealing Directives 67/548/EEC and 1999/45/EC, and amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Official Journal of the European Union L353/1.



NORMS AND LEGISLATION :

Maximum selenium content in water intended for human consumption

COUNCIL DIRECTIVE 98/83/EC of 3 November 1998 on the quality of water intended for human consumption.
The maximum selenium content in water intended for human consumption is fixed at 10µg/L.

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CONSLEG:1998L0083:20031120:EN:PDF

 

Tolerable upper intake level for selenium (UL)
The European Scientific Committee on Food has established an upper intake level of 300 µg Se/day for adults.


ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

  • RESEARCH

Speciation research in the "Trace Elements" Unit at CODA-CERVA started in 2008, after the purchase of an LC-ICP-MS. This system allows the separation of different chemical species of an element on a chromatographic column, followed by a quantification step by means of ICP-MS.

Selenium (Se)Se-speciation and bioavailability of Se in food and food supplements' is one of the research topics in our unit. Se-species that are focused on include 2 inorganic forms, being selenite and selenate, and 3 organic species being selenomethionine (main selenocompound in crops, this Se-aminoacid is often unspecifically incorporated in proteins in place of methionine), selenocystine and methylselenocysteine (main compound in Se-accumulating plants after Se-enrichment, and potent anti-cancer agent as precursor of methylselenol).

 

This research includes the following aspects: optimization of a method for Se-speciation analysis in food using HPLC-ICP-MS, analysis of Se species in various food samples and construction of a database, development of a method for analysis of Se bioavailability using a Caco-2 cells model of intestinal barrier, analysis of bioavailability of different Se species, determination of background concentrations of Se in soils in Belgium, determination of potential relationships between soil characteristics and Se content/speciation in crops, and evaluation of the impact of Se-fertilisation on Se-speciation in crops.

Selenium (Se)

 

The results of this research should contribute to the knowledge about bio-active Se-compounds, and to the identification of types of food and/or food supplements able to provide an optimal human Se-nutrition.

 

In addition, insight will be obtained in the relationship between soil characteristics and crop quality (regarding Se-status).

 

This project is supported by the National Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS), the Belgian Science Policy (Belspo) and the Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain (FASFC).

 

  • SERVICES

The activities of the Trace Element Unit at CODA-CERVA include scientific research and provision of services in the field of food safety, public and animal health.

 

We provide analytical facilities for third parties by the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed. The analyses of total As, Cd, Hg and Pb are accredited (BELAC 172-TEST) according to the International norm ISO 17025.

 

Analyses of a series of other trace elements (including Se) are also performed under the quality management system.

 

CODA-CERVA is the Belgian National Reference laboratory (NRL) for the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed.

 

TEAM OF SCIENTISTS :

Ann Ruttens
Nadia Waegeneers

Karlien Cheyns

CODA-CERVA PUBLICATIONS

2013

- Thiry, C., Pussemier, L, .Schneider, Y-J., Ruttens, A., 2013. Selenium bioaccessibility and bioavailability in Se-enriched food supplements. Biological Trace Element Research 152 (1) pp 152-160.

- Thiry, C., Ruttens, A., Pussemier, L, .Schneider, Y-J, 2013 In vitro investigation on selenium (Se) species-dependent intestinal transport and its impact on Se bioavailability. British Journal of Nutrition. 109 (12), pp 2126-2134.

- Waegeneers, N., Thiry, C., De Temmerman, L. and Ruttens, A. 2013. Predicted dietary intake of selenium by the general adult population in Belgium. Food additives and Contaminants. Part A. 30(2), pp. 278-285.

2012

- Thiry C., Ruttens A., De Temmerman L., et al., 2012. Current knowledge in species-related bioavailability of selenium in food. Food Chemistry, 130(4), pp 767-784.

Imprimer Envoyer

Sélénium - Se

DESCRIPTION GÉNÉRALE DE L'ÉLÉMENT :

Sélénium métallique : Numéro CAS : 7782-49-2

- numéro atomique : 34
- masse atomique : 78,96 (isotopes stables : 76Se, 77Se, 78Se, 80Se, (82Se))
- température de fusion : 221 °C
- température d'ébullition : 685 °C

 

EN QUELQUES LIGNES :

Le sélénium, comme de nombreux autres éléments traces, est un constituant naturel de la croûte terrestre. Sa concentration dans les sols varie considérablement d'une région du monde à l'autre, allant de 0,1 µg/kg dans celles où les sols sont pauvres en sélénium à plus de 1000 mg/kg dans les régions sélénifères.

 

Le sélénium s'obtient le plus souvent à partir du séléniure, un composé du sélénium qui est présent dans les minerais sulfurés tels que ceux associés au cuivre et au plomb. Le Sélénium est utilisé le plus souvent par l'homme comme agent (dé)colorant dans l'industrie du verre et de la céramique. Il est également fréquemment utilisé comme catalyseur dans les réactions chimiques, en électronique et pour le virage des impressions photographiques. Parmi les applications biologiques du sélénium figurent l'utilisation du sulfure de sélénium (SeS2) en tant que substance active dans certains shampooings antipelliculaires et l'utilisation du sélénium dans les préparations vitaminées ou autres compléments alimentaires.

Sélénium (Se)

 

En effet, si, à l'origine, on a pensé que le Sélénium était un élément potentiellement toxique, son importance en tant qu'oligo-élément (essentiel pour être en bonne santé!) a été reconnue au milieu du siècle dernier. Plusieurs études épidémiologiques et des essais en laboratoire ont démontré que le sélénium permet de réduire le risque de cancer et de maladies cardiovasculaires et favorise l'amélioration des fonctions du système immunitaire. Des cas particuliers de carence en sélénium ont été constatés entre autres dans la région de Keshan en Chine, où la teneur en sélénium dans le sol et dans l'alimentation est extrêmement faible (maladie de Keshan, qui se caractérise par une dilatation du cœur et une fonction cardiaque diminuée). Dans plusieurs cas, l'apport complémentaire de sélénium par l'alimentation (que ce soit sous forme de compléments alimentaires ou d'aliments enrichis en sélénium) a permis avec succès d'améliorer le taux de sélénium chez les personnes présentant une carence en cet oligo-élément.

 

D'autre part, des doses de sélénium trop élevées peuvent provoquer une sélénose, syndrome qui se caractérise par la chute des cheveux, la fragilité des ongles ainsi que des lésions cutanées et hépatiques, et, même, à des niveaux plus importants, une neurotoxicité. De semblables effets indésirables du sélénium sur la santé ont été observés entre autres chez des personnes et des animaux dans des régions sélénifères, parmi lesquelles les immenses plaines du nord des États-Unis, des régions du Venezuela, de Colombie, de l'Inde et de Chine.

 

Parmi les aspects importants liés à la prise de sélénium, il convient de noter que celui-ci peut être présent dans l'alimentation et dans les compléments alimentaires sous différentes formes chimiques ou différentes espèces, qui, après avoir pénétrées dans le corps humain, différent en solubilité, absorption, métabolisme, et par conséquent, en biodisponibilité. Cela implique que les effets (bénéfiques ou toxiques) ne dépendent pas uniquement de la dose qui a été prise, mais également de la forme chimique sous laquelle l'élément a été pris.

 

Il est nécessaire d'effectuer des recherches supplémentaires afin de mieux comprendre les conditions essentielles à une prise optimale de sélénium (effet optimal sur la santé).Sélénium (Se) La collecte des données relatives à la spéciation du sélénium dans les aliments, d'une part, et la mise en évidence des composés du sélénium et de ses sources alimentaires les plus bioactifs, d'autre part, peuvent y contribuer.

 

Classification selon le règlement (CE) n° 1272/2008 du 16 décembre 2008 :
- Numéro index : 034-001-00-2
Toxicité aiguë 3* ; H301 : toxique en cas d'ingestion
Toxicité aiguë 3* ; H331 : toxique par inhalation
Stot Re2 : H373 : Risque présumé d'effets graves pour les organes à la suite d'expositions répétées ou d'une exposition prolongée
Toxicité aquatique chronique 4 ; H413 : Peut entraîner des effets néfastes à long terme pour les organismes aquatiques.
Reference: Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 december 2008 on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, amending and repealing Directives 67/548/EEC and 1999/45/EC, and amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Official Journal of the European Union L353/1.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:353:0001:1355:EN:PDF


NORMES ET LÉGISLATION :

Teneur maximale en sélénium dans les eaux destinées à la consommation humaine

DIRECTIVE 98/83/CE DU CONSEIL du 3 novembre 1998 relative à la qualité des eaux destinées à la consommation humaine
La teneur maximale en sélénium dans les eaux destinées à la consommation humaine est fixée à 10 µg/L.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CONSLEG:1998L0083:20031120:EN:PDF

 

Apport maximal tolérable (UL) pour le sélénium
Le comité scientifique européen pour l'alimentation humaine a fixé l'apport maximal pour le sélénium à 300 µg/jour chez les adultes.
http://ec.europa.eu/food/fs/sc/scf/out80g_en.pdf


RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • RECHERCHE

La recherche relative à la spéciation dans l'unité « Éléments traces » du CODA-CERVA a débuté en 2008, après l'achat d'un système LC-ICP-MS. Cette technique permet de séparer les différentes espèces chimiques d'un élément sur une colonne chromatographique, pour les quantifier ensuite au moyen de l'ICP-MS.

Sélénium (Se)

 

La spéciation du sélénium et sa biodisponibilité dans l'alimentation et les compléments alimentaires fait partie des sujets de recherche de notre unité. Parmi les espèces de sélénium sur lesquelles porte prioritairement la recherche figurent deux espèces inorganiques, à savoir la sélénite et le séléniate, et trois espèces organiques : la sélénométhionine (principal composé du sélénium que l'on retrouve dans les cultures, cet aminoacide est souvent incorporé de manière non spécifique dans les protéines à la place de la méthionine), la sélénocystine, et la méthylsélénocystéine (principal composé des plantes accumulant le sélénium après un enrichissement avec cet élément et puissant anticancéreux en tant que précurseur du méthylsélénol).

 

Ce type de recherche comporte les aspects suivants : optimalisation d'une méthode d'analyse pour la spéciation du sélénium dans l'alimentation par CLHP-ICP-MS, analyse des espèces de sélénium dans différents échantillons alimentaires et création d'une base de données, élaboration d'une méthode d'analyse de la biodisponibilité du sélénium au moyen d'un modèle reposant sur les cellules Caco-2 de la barrière intestinale, analyse de la biodisponibilité des différentes espèces de sélénium, établissement des concentrations de fond dans les sols de Belgique, mise en évidence d'éventuelles relations entre les caractéristiques du sol et la teneur en sélénium / sa spéciation dans les cultures et évaluation de l'incidence de la fertilisation au moyen du sélénium sur la spéciation de celui-ci dans les cultures.

Sélénium (Se)

 

Les résultats de cette recherche devraient permettre de mieux connaître les composés bioactifs du sélénium et de déterminer les types d'aliments et/ou de compléments alimentaires capables de fournir une dose optimale de sélénium chez l'homme.

 

Par ailleurs, grâce à ces résultats, on aura un aperçu de la relation existant entre les caractéristiques du sol et la qualité des cultures (en ce qui concerne le statut en sélénium).

 

Cette recherche est soutenue par le Fonds national pour la recherche scientifique (FNRS), la Politique scientifique fédérale (Belspo), et l'Agence fédérale pour la sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire (AFSCA).

 

  • PRESTATION DE SERVICES

Les activités de l'unité « Éléments traces » du CODA-CERVA se constituent de la recherche scientifique et des prestations de services dans le domaine de la sécurité alimentaire, de la santé publique et de la santé animale.

 

Nous offrons des services d'analyse aux tierces parties pour la détection d'éléments traces dans les aliments destinés à la consommation humaine et dans ceux destinés aux animaux. Les analyses concernant les teneurs totales en arsenic, en cadmium, en mercure et en plomb se font sous accréditation (BELAC 172-TEST) selon la norme internationale ISO 17025.

 

Des analyses d'une série d'autres éléments traces (dont le sélénium) sont également effectuées, mais ne sont pas encore incluses dans le système de management de la qualité.

 

Le CODA-CERVA est le laboratoire national belge de référence (LNR) pour la détection des éléments traces dans les aliments destinés à la consommation et dans ceux destinés aux animaux.

 

ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE :

Ann Ruttens
Nadia Waegeneers

Karlien Cheyns


PUBLICATIONS DU CODA-CERVA

2013

- Thiry, C., Pussemier, L, .Schneider, Y-J., Ruttens, A., 2013. Selenium bioaccessibility and bioavailability in Se-enriched food supplements. Biological Trace Element Research 152 (1) pp 152-160.

- Thiry, C., Ruttens, A., Pussemier, L, .Schneider, Y-J, 2013 In vitro investigation on selenium (Se) species-dependent intestinal transport and its impact on Se bioavailability. British Journal of Nutrition. 109 (12), pp 2126-2134.

- Waegeneers, N., Thiry, C., De Temmerman, L. and Ruttens, A. 2013. Predicted dietary intake of selenium by the general adult population in Belgium. Food additives and Contaminants. Part A. 30(2), pp. 278-285.

2012

- Thiry C., Ruttens A., De Temmerman L., et al., 2012. Current knowledge in species-related bioavailability of selenium in food. Food Chemistry, 130(4), pp 767-784.