Print E-mail

Arsenic - As

GENERAL DESCRIPTION :

Arsenic : N° CAS : 7440-38-2

- Atomic number : 33
- Atomic weight : 74,92
- Melting point: 817 °C
- Boiling point : 614 ℃

IN A FEW LINES :

Arsenic is a widely spread trace element in the biosphere. Chemically it is characterized as a metalloid since it has both properties of metals and non metals. In some areas As-concentrations in soil or water are strongly enriched, either naturally, either as a result of human activities.

Arsenic (As)

 

Due to its toxic properties, environmental contamination with As is a matter of public concern; historically, the same properties made As the poison of choice for many murders.

 

Usefull human applications of As include the use of CCA as wood protection agent (application recently decreasing due to regulations), and its use as insecticide in agriculture. To a smaller extent As is used e.g. in glass and pigment industries, in electronic applications and in alloys. A number of As compounds was/is also used in medical applications (e.g. in anti-parasite and anti-cancer treatments). For this variety of applications arsenic is usually produced as a by-product of copper, lead, nickel or gold smelting (sulphide ores).


In compounds, arsenic typically exists in one of three oxidation states, -3, +3, and +5.

 

Arsenic compounds can be categorized as inorganic compounds (without an arsenic-carbon bond), and organic compounds (with an arsenic-carbon bond).

 

Speciation is of critical importance for arsenic compounds because the various species differ largely with respect to their toxicity. The toxicity of As species commonly found in food is generally reported to be in de order: arsenite (AsIII), arsenate (ASV), dimethylarsinic acid (DMA), monomethylarsinic acid (MMA), arsenobetaine (AsB).

 

During the past decades a lot of progress has been made in understanding the speciation and toxicity of As in food. While seafood contributes to a large extent to the total human As exposure (due to its high total As content), this As is almost exclusively present as arsenobetaine, a species which is not toxic.

 

Grains (e.g. rice or wheat) and vegetable crops on the contrary, have much lower total As concentrations, but a considerable fraction of this As is inorganic, which has a much higher toxicity.

 

Because of these differences, setting regulations for As-intake (maximum acceptable concentrations, tolerable intakes) based on total As concentrations is of little use.

 

Recent progress in lowering the quantification limits and accuracy of speciation methods may help to contribute to the possibility to take speciation aspects into account in future regulations. Arsenic (As)


Classification according to Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of 16 December 2008 :

Index number: 033-001-00-X
Acute Tox. 3*; H301: toxic if swallowed
Acute Tox. 3*; H331: toxic if inhaled
Aquatic Acute 1: H400: Very toxic to aquatic life
Aquatic Chronic 1; H410: Very toxic to aquatic life with long lasting effects.

 

Reference: Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 december 2008 on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, amending and repealing Directives 67/548/EEC and 1999/45/EC, and amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Official Journal of the European Union L353/1.

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:353:0001:1355:EN:PDF


NORMS AND LEGISLATION :

Maximum arsenic content in ambient air
Directive 2004/107/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 December 2004 relating to arsenic, cadmium (Cd), mercury (Hg), nickel and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in ambient air.
Target value for arsenic in ambient air: 6 ng/m3.

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2005:023:0003:01:FR:HTML

 

Maximum arsenic content in products intended for animal feed
DIRECTIVE 2002/32/EC OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 7 May 2002 on undesirable substances in animal feed.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/pri/fr/oj/dat/2002/l_140/l_14020020530fr00100021.pdf

 

Products intended for animal feed

Maximum arsenic content in mg/kg (ppm) relative to a feedingstuff with a moisture content of 12 %

Feed materials with the exception of:
2
- meal made from grass, from dried lucerne and from dried clover, and dried sugar beet pulp and dried molasses sugar beet pulp
4
- phosphates and feedingstuffs obtained from the processing of fish or other marine animals
10
Complete feedingstuffs with the exception of:
2
- complete feedingstuffs for fish
4
Complementary feedingstuffs with the exception
of:
4
-mineral feedingstuffs
12

 


Arsenic (As)

Restrictions on the marketing and use of arsenic

COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 27 July 1976 on the approximation of the laws, regulations and administrative provisions of the Member States relating to restrictions on the marketing and use of certain dangerous substances and preparations (76/769/EEC)
http://www.reach-compliance.eu/english/legislation/docs/launchers/launch-76-769-EEC.html

 

Maximum arsenic content in water intended for human consumption
COUNCIL DIRECTIVE 98/83/EC of 3 November 1998 on the quality of water intended for human consumption.
The maximum arsenic content in water intended for human consumption is fixed at 10µg/L.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CONSLEG:1998L0083:20031120:FR:PDF

 

Tolerable human intake levels
Arsenic was last evaluated by JECFA at its thirty-third meeting in 1988 and a PTWI of 0.015 mg/kg body weight (bw) was established. A large amount of scientific data has become available since then, including epidemiological studies, which warrants a re-evaluation and review of the PTWI (will be discussed in Rome, February 2010).
http://www.who.int/ipcs/food/jecfa/jecfa72.pdf


ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

  • RESEARCH

Speciation research in the Trace Elements Unit at CODA-CERVA started in 2008, after the purchase of an LC-ICP-MS. This system allows the separation of different element species on a chromatographic column, followed by a quantification step by means of ICP-MS.

 

arsenic

Arsenic speciation research is of particular importance because the various As species have different toxicities. Our activities related to As speciation in food include e.g. the development/optimisation of (a) method(s) for extraction and detection of five As species, being : arsenite (AsIII), arsenate (ASV), dimethylarsinic acid (DMA), monomethylarsinic acid (MMA) and arsenobetaine; the sampling and analysis of total As and As speciation in several different matrices such as sea fish, crustaceans, river fish, cereals and cereal products, root and bulb crops, drinks (wine beer, milk,...) and food supplements; the creation of a database containing As speciation data in food; and human risk evaluation for As based on the data in our database (e.g. comparison between actual intake based on Belgian diet and PTWI for inorganic arsenic-set by WHO (World Health Organization) at 0.015 mg/kg bw).

 

This research should also contribute to an improved insight in the possibilities of defining speciation based As- regulations.

 

This study is carried out as research contract from the FPS Public Health Food Chain Safety and Environment.

  • SERVICES
The "Trace Element" Unit at CODA-CERVA is mainly dedicated to scientific research and services in the field of food safety, public and animal health. We provide analytical facilities for third parties by the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed. The analyses of total Arsenic, Cadmium, Mercury and Lead (Pb) are accredited according to the European Quality norm ISO 17025. In the future As speciation analysis may become part of our services.

 

CODA-CERVA is the Belgian National Reference laboratory (NRL) for the determination of total trace element concentrations in food and animal feed.


TEAM OF SCIENTISTS :

Ann Ruttens
Nadia Waegeneers

Karlien Cheyns


CODA-CERVA PUBLICATIONS

2012

- Ruttens, A., Blanpain, A.-C., De Temmerman, L. and Waegeneers, N. 2012. Arsenic speciation in food in Belgium. Part 1: fish, molluscs and crustaceans. Journal of the Geochemical Exploration, 121: pp. 55-61.

Imprimer Envoyer

Arsenic - As

DESCRIPTION GÉNÉRALE DE L'ÉLÉMENT :

Arsenic : N° CAS : 7440-38-2

- Numéro atomique : 33
- Masse atomique : 74,92
- Température de fusion : 817 °C
- Température d'ébullition : 614 ℃

EN QUELQUES LIGNES :

L'arsenic est un élément trace largement répandu dans la biosphère. D'un point de vue chimique, il est défini comme un métalloïde, car il présente à la fois les propriétés des métaux et celles des non-métaux. Dans certaines régions, les concentrations d'arsenic dans le sol et dans l'eau sont très élevées, que ce soit naturellement ou du fait des activités humaines.

Arsenic (As)

 

Compte tenu de ses propriétés toxiques, la contamination environnementale par l'arsenic constitue une question d'intérêt public. Dans l'histoire, ces mêmes propriétés ont fait de l'arsenic le poison de prédilection pour de nombreux meurtres.

 

Parmi les utilisations utiles de l'arsenic par l'homme figurent l'utilisation de CCA comme agent de protection du bois (utilisation en perte de vitesse depuis peu compte tenu de la réglementation) et l'utilisation en tant qu'insecticide dans l'agriculture. À plus petite échelle, l'arsenic est utilisé par exemple dans les industries du verre et du pigment, dans les appareils électroniques et pour les alliages. Un certain nombre de composés de l'arsenic étaient/sont également utilisés à des fins médicales (par exemple dans les traitements antiparasitaire et anticancéreux). Pour cette série d'utilisations, l'arsenic est généralement obtenu en tant que produit dérivé du cuivre, du plomb, du nickel ou de la fusion de l'or (minerais sulfurés).

 

Dans les composés, l'arsenic existe généralement dans un des trois états d'oxydation suivants : -3, +3 et +5.

 

Les composés de l'arsenic peuvent être classés dans les composés inorganiques (sans liaison arsenic-carbone) et les composés organiques (avec une liaison arsenic-carbone).

 

La spéciation revêt une importance capitale pour les composés de l'arsenic, car les différentes espèces varient fortement du point de vue de leur toxicité. La toxicité des espèces de l'arsenic que l'on retrouve habituellement dans l'alimentation est généralement constatée dans l'ordre suivant : arsénite (AsIII), arséniate (ASV), acide diméthylarsinique (DMA), acide monométhylarsinique (MMA), arsénobétaïne (AsB).

 

Au cours des dernières décennies, des progrès considérables ont été réalisés quant à la spéciation et à la toxicité de l'arsenic dans l'alimentation. Si les fruits de mer contribuent dans une large mesure à l'exposition totale de l'homme à l'arsenic (en raison de leur teneur totale élevée en arsenic), l'arsenic qu'ils contiennent se présente quasiment exclusivement sous la forme d'arsénobétaïne, une espèce qui n'est pas toxique.

 

En revanche, les concentrations totales d'arsenic dans les céréales (par exemple le riz ou le blé) et les légumes sont nettement moins importantes, mais une part considérable de cet arsenic est inorganique, et sa toxicité est donc bien plus élevée.

 

Compte tenu de ces différences, il n'est pas très utile de fixer des règles pour la prise d'arsenic (concentrations maximales acceptables, doses tolérables) sur la base des concentrations totales en arsenic.

 

Des progrès récents relatifs à l'abaissement des limites de quantification et à la précision des méthodes de spéciation pourraient favoriser la prise en compte des aspects liés à la spéciation dans les futurs règlements.Arsenic


Classification selon le règlement (CE) n° 1272/2008 du 16 décembre 2008 :
- Numéro index : 033-001-00-X
Toxicité aiguë 3* ; H301 : toxique en cas d'ingestion
Toxicité aiguë 3* ; H331 : toxique par inhalation
Danger pour le milieu aquatique 1 ; H400 : très toxique pour les organismes aquatiques
Toxicité aquatique chronique 1 ; H410 : très toxique pour les organismes aquatiques, entraîne des effets à long terme

 

Reference: Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 december 2008 on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, amending and repealing Directives 67/548/EEC and 1999/45/EC, and amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Official Journal of the European Union L353/1.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:353:0001:1355:EN:PDF


NORMES ET LÉGISLATION :

Teneur maximale en arsenic dans l'air ambiant
Directive 2004/107/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 15 décembre 2004 concernant l'arsenic, le cadmium (Cd), le mercure (Hg), le nickel et les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques dans l'air ambiant.
Valeur cible pour l'arsenic dans l'air ambiant : 6 ng/m3.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2005:023:0003:01:FR:HTML

 

Teneur maximale en arsenic dans les produits destinés aux aliments des animaux
Directive 2002/32/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 7 mai 2002 sur les substances indésirables dans les aliments pour animaux.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/pri/fr/oj/dat/2002/l_140/l_14020020530fr00100021.pdf

 

Produits destinés aux aliments pour animaux

Teneur maximale en arsenic exprimée en mg/kg (ppm) d'aliments pour animaux d'une teneur en humidité de 12 %

Matières premières des aliments pour animaux, à l'exception de : 2
- farines d'herbes, de luzerne et de trèfle déshydraté, pulpe séchée de betteraves sucrières et pulpe mélassée séchée de betteraves sucrières 4
- phosphates et aliments pour animaux provenant de la transformation de poisson ou d'autres animaux marins 10
Aliments complets, à l'exception de : 2
- aliments complets pour poissons 4
Aliments complémentaires, à l'exception de 4
- aliments minéraux 12

 


Arsenic (As)

Limitations de la mise sur le marché et de l'emploi de l'arsenic

DIRECTIVE DU CONSEIL du 27 juillet 1976 concernant le rapprochement des dispositions législatives, réglementaires et administratives des États membres relatives à la limitation de la mise sur le marché et de l'emploi de certaines substances et préparations dangereuses (76/769/CEE).
http://www.reach-compliance.eu/english/legislation/docs/launchers/launch-76-769-EEC.html

 

 

Teneur maximale en arsenic dans les eaux destinées à la consommation humaine.
Directive 98/83/CE du Conseil du 3 novembre 1998 relative à la qualité des eaux destinées à la consommation humaine
La teneur maximale en arsenic dans les eaux destinées à la consommation humaine est fixée à 10 µg/L.
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CONSLEG:1998L0083:20031120:FR:PDF

 

Doses humaines tolérées
L'arsenic a été évalué pour la dernière fois par le JECFA lors de la trente-troisième réunion du comité en 1988, à l'occasion de laquelle la PTWI a été fixée à 0,015 mg/kg de poids corporel. De nombreuses données scientifiques ont depuis lors été rendues publiques, y compris des études épidémiologiques, ce qui justifie une réévaluation et un révision de la PTWI (point qui sera abordé à Rome en février 2010).
http://www.who.int/ipcs/food/jecfa/jecfa72.pdf


RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • RECHERCHE

La recherche relative à la spéciation dans l'unité « Éléments traces » du CODA-CERVA a débuté en 2008, après l'achat d'un système LC-ICP-MS. Cette technique permet de séparer les différentes espèces d'un élément sur une colonne chromatographique, pour les quantifier ensuite au moyen de l'ICP-MS.arsenic riz

 

La recherche relative à la spéciation revêt une importance particulière pour l'arsenic, car la toxicité de celui-ci varie en fonction de ses différentes espèces. Nos activités liées à la spéciation de l'arsenic dans l'alimentation concernent entre autres : la mise au point/l'amélioration d'une ou de plusieurs méthodes d'extraction et de détection de cinq espèces d'arsenic, à savoir l'arsénite (AsIII), l'arséniate (ASV), l'acide diméthylarsinique (DMA), l'acide monométhylarsinique (MMA) et l'arsénobétaïne (AsB) ; l'échantillonnage et l'analyse de l'arsenic total, ainsi que la spéciation de l'arsenic dans plusieurs matrices différentes telles que les poissons de mer, les crustacés, les poissons de rivière, les céréales et les produits céréaliers, les plantes sarclées et à bulbes, les boissons (vin, bière, lait, etc.) et les compléments alimentaires ; la création d'une base de données dans laquelle figurent les informations relatives à la spéciation de l'arsenic dans l'alimentation ; et l'évaluation des risques de l'arsenic pour l'homme, sur la base des informations contenues dans notre base de données (par exemple comparaison entre la dose réelle apportée par un régime alimentaire donné en Belgique et la PTWI pour l'arsenic inorganique, fixée par l'OMS (Organisation mondiale de la Santé) à 0,015 mg/kg de poids corporel).

 

Ces travaux de recherche devraient également permettre d'avoir un meilleur aperçu des possibilités existantes quant à l'élaboration de règlements relatifs à l'arsenic fondés sur la spéciation.

 

Cette étude est réalisée dans le cadre d'un contrat de recherche pour le compte du SPF Santé publique, Sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire et Environnement.

 

  • PRESTATIONS DE SERVICES

L'unité « Éléments traces » du CODA-CERVA se consacre essentiellement à la recherche scientifique et à la prestation de services dans le domaine de la sécurité alimentaire, de la santé publique et de la santé animale. Nous offrons des services d'analyse aux tierces parties pour la détection d'éléments traces dans les aliments destinés à la consommation humaine et dans ceux destinés aux animaux. Les analyses concernant les teneurs totales en arsenic, en cadmium, en mercure et en plomb (Pb) sont accréditées selon la norme de qualité européenne (ISO 17025). À l'avenir, l'analyse de spéciation de l'arsenic fera partie de nos services.

 

Le CODA-CERVA est le laboratoire national belge de référence (LNR) pour la détection des éléments traces dans les aliments destinés à la consommation et dans ceux destinés aux animaux.


ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE :

Ann Ruttens
Nadia Waegeneers

Karlien Cheyns

 

PUBLICATIONS DU CODA-CERVA

2012
- Ruttens, A., Blanpain, A.-C., De Temmerman, L. and Waegeneers, N. 2012. Arsenic speciation in food in Belgium. Part 1: fish, molluscs and crustaceans. Journal of the Geochemical Exploration, 121: pp. 55-61.