Home Scientific Research Bacteriology Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)
Print E-mail

Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus aureus

S. aureus is the best characterized species among the Staphylococci, a genus of Gram-positive cocci comprising over 50 species and subspecies according to the NCBI Taxonomy browser.

 

S. aureus forms part of the normal staphylococcal flora of humans and various animal species.

 

In humans, S. aureus resides primarily in the anterior nares, where it shows a marked colonisation pattern: approximately 20-25% of individuals are persistent carriers (of mostly one strain), another 20% are non-carriers and the remaining proportion of the population (55-60%) carries S. aureus intermittently.Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)

 

In addition, S. aureus can frequently be found on other healthy skin sites, such as the axillae and the perineum. However, S. aureus is also the most important human pathogenic Staphylococcus species. The most common infections are minor skin infections that heal without medical intervention. However, severe infections can develop when S. aureus affects wounds or enters normally sterile body sites like blood (bacteraemia), the lungs (pneumonia) and the heart (endocarditis), and such infections frequently lead to death. This is very common in hospital settings, due to the ubiquitous presence of damaged skin sites.

 

In animals, besides being principally a colonizer of healthy skin sites, S. aureus is also one of the three major animal pathogenic Staphylococcus species, together with S. (pseud)intermedius and S. hyicus. The scale of infections Staphylococci are involved in is as broad as the number of animal species suffering from it, ranging from pneumonia, joint infections, osteomyelitis and septicaemia in poultry to subcutaneous abscesses, mastitis and pododermatitis in rabbits, dermatitis and cellulitis in horses and septicaemia in pigs. However, S. aureus plays its most significant animal pathogenic role as cause of intramammary infections in cattle and small ruminants.

 

Using biotyping methods, it was shown already several decades ago that S. aureus strains are host specific. In 1984 a biotyping system was proposed which could differentiate between man-, poultry-, sheep- and goats-, cattle- and non-host-specific strains of S. aureus. More recently, the use of modern genotyping methods has confirmed the host-specificity of S. aureus.

MRSA

 

An important impediment in the control of S. aureus infections, both in animals and humans, is the tendency of S. aureus to gain resistance to almost all classes of antimicrobial agents which it is subjected to. Probably the most important and striking example of this is its acquisition of resistance to β-lactam antibiotics. This is not only because of the rapidity with which resistance against these antibiotics developed recent years (see below), but also because of the major health care problem the resistant strains have subsequently become, in nosocomial settings as well as in the community, and both in human and veterinary medicine.

 

The first antibiotic ever used, penicillin, belongs to the meanwhile very comprehensive group of β-lactam antibiotics. These antimicrobial agents, characterized by the presence of a functionally essential β-lactam ring, bind to so called penicillin-binding proteins (PBPs), essential enzymes for bacterial cell wall construction and maintenance.

As a result of this binding, PBPs are inhibited, and lysis followed by cell death occurs.

 

However, soon after the first introduction of penicillin in the early 1940s, strains of S. aureus were identified that appeared to be resistant to its inhibiting activity. Later it became clear that this was caused by the production of penicillinases or β-lactamases.

 

Now, more than 90% of the human staphylococcal isolates produce penicillinases, regardless of clinical setting. Contrary, this type of resistance seldom exceeds 50% in strains from bovine mastitis and rabbit S. aureus seems to be very susceptible to all antibiotics, including β-lactams.

 

To counter the production of β-lactamases, β-lactamase-resistant β-lactam antibiotics were developed. The first agent in this class, the semi-synthetic methicillin, was introduced in clinical practice in 1959. However, similar to penicillin, shortly upon introduction the first methicillin-resistant staphylococci were detected and a few years later, the first infections involving methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) were reported. Methicillin resistance was caused by the expression of an alternative penicillin-binding protein, called PBP2a or PBP2'. In contrast to the four native PBPs of S. aureus, PBP2a shows a very low affinity for β-lactam antibiotics, resulting in an enduring bacterial cell wall construction and, hence, survival of the bacterium.

 

PBP2a was found to be encoded by the mecA gene. This gene is localized in a mobile genetic element, named the Staphylococcal Cassette Chromosome mec (SCCmec), which is found integrated in the chromosome at a specific open reading frame (orf) of unknown function, orfX.

 

A SCCmec-element is composed of two essential gene complexes: the mec-complex and the ccr-complex. On the basis of their structural composition, mec- and ccr-complexes are categorized into different classes and types, respectively. Based on the class of mec-complex and the type of ccr-complex present, SCCmec-elements are then categorized into different SCCmec-types.

 

A distinctive feature of most MRSA is that the level of resistance can be influenced by environmental factors, conferring the expression of methicillin resistance an apparent inducibility. The cause of this is the heterogeneous nature of methicillin-resistance.

 

ROLE OF CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSIS

Isolation, characterisation (antibiotic resistance, virulence genes, PFGE, Spa-typing, MLST)

  • RESEARCH

Studies are ongoing investigating the epidemiology of MRSA in animals, host pathogen interaction in vitro and in vivo, and treatment by alternative means.

 

TEAM OF SCIENTISTS :

 

Vicky Jasson

Pierre Wattiau


CODA-CERVA PUBLICATIONS :

2011

- Hallin M, De Mendonça R, Denis O, Lefort A, El Garch F, Butaye P, Hermans K, Struelens MJ. Diversity of accessory genome of human and livestock-associated ST398 methicillin resistant Staphylococcus aureus strains. Infect Genet Evol. 2011 Mar;11(2):290-9.

2010

- Vanderhaeghen W, Cerpentier T, Adriaensen C, Vicca J, Hermans K, Butaye P. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) ST398 associated with clinical and subclinical mastitis in Belgian cows. Vet Microbiol. 2010, 144(1-2):166-71

- Vanderhaeghen W, Hermans K, Haesebrouck F, Butaye P. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) in food production animals. Epidemiol Infect. 2010,138(5):606-25.

2009

- Denis O., C. Suetens, M. Hallin, B. Catry, I. Ramboer, M. Dispas, G. Willems, B. Gordts, P. Butaye, and M.J. Struelens. 2009. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus ST398 in swine farm personnel, Belgium. Emerg Infect Dis. 15:1098-1101.
- Persoons D., S. Van Hoorebeke, K. Hermans, P. Butaye, A. de Kruif, F. Haesebrouck, and J. Dewulf. 2009. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus in poultry. Emerg Infect Dis. 15:452-453.
- Rasschaert G, W. Vanderhaeghen, I. Dewaele, N. Janez, X. Huijsdens, P. Butaye, and M. Heyndrickx. Comparison of fingerprinting methods for typing MRSA ST398. J Clin Microbiol. 2009 Aug 26. [Epub ahead of print]

2008

- Hermans, K., Lipinska, U., Denis, O., Deplano, A., Struelens, M.J., Nemati, M.; Pasmans, F., Butaye, P., Martens, A., Deprez, P., Haesebrouck, F. 2008. MRSA clone ST398-SCCmec IV as a cause of infections in an equine clinic. Vlaams Diergeneeskundig Tijdschrift, 77: 429-433.

2006

- Haesebrouck F., D. Vancraeynest, K. Hermans, B. Catry, P. Butaye, A. Decostere. 2006. Methicilline-resistente stapylococcus aureus stammen bij dieren: een gevaar voor de gezondheid van dier en mens? Vlaams Diergen. Tijdschr., 75, 254-261.

Home Recherche Scientifique Bactériologie Staphylocoque aureus résistant à la méthicilline (MRSA)
Imprimer Envoyer

Staphylocoque aureus résistant à la méthicilline

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES :

Le staphylocoque doré est l'espèce la mieux définie parmi toutes les espèces de staphylocoques. Il en existe en outre plus de 50 espèces et sous-espèces.

 

On le retrouve dans la flore staphylococcique normale de l'homme et de diverses espèces animales.

Le S. aureus colonise l'homme principalement via les fosses nasales. Environ 1/3 des individus en sont porteurs en permanence (principalement d'une souche), 1/3 ne sont pas porteurs et le 1/3 restant est porteur du staphylocoque doré par intermittence.Staphylocoque aureus résistant à la méthicilline

 

En outre, on peut fréquemment le retrouver à d'autres endroits sains de la peau, dont les aisselles et le périnée. Toutefois, le staphylocoque doré est également une souche pathogène importante chez l'homme. Les infections les plus fréquentes sont des infections cutanées. Des infections graves peuvent néanmoins apparaître telles que les infections du sang (bactériémie), des poumons (pneumonie) et du cœur (endocardite). Ces infections peuvent être mortelles. Ce phénomène se produit fréquemment en milieu hospitalier.

 

Chez certains animaux également, le staphylocoque doré est présent sur sites cutanés. Tout comme chez l'homme, il représente une souche pathogène, à côté de deux autres espèces de staphylocoques pathogènes importantes : S. (pseud)intermedius et S. hyicus. La proportion dans laquelle les staphylocoques sont impliqués dans les infections dépend de l'animal, et couvre les maladies suivantes : pneumonie, infections musculaires, ostéomyélite et septicémie chez les volailles; abcès sous-cutanés, mastite et pododermatite chez le lapin: dermatite et cellulite chez le cheval. Toutefois, c'est en tant qu'acteur dans des infections intramammaires chez les bovins et les petits ruminants que le staphylocoque doré joue son principal rôle pathogène chez les animaux. S. pseudintermedius est principalement responsable d'infections cutanées chez le chien, et chez les porcs, S. hyicus provoque des infections cutanées et une septicémie.

 

Il y a plusieurs décennies déjà, l'utilisation de la biotypie a permis de montrer que les souches de staphylocoque doré sont spécifiques à l'hôte. En 1984, un système de biotypie a été proposé, grâce auquel on a pu distinguer les souches de staphylocoque doré spécifiques à l'homme, aux volailles, aux ovins, aux caprins, aux bovins et celles non spécifiques à l'hôte. Plus récemment, l'utilisation de méthodes de biotypie modernes a confirmé la spécificité à l'hôte du staphylocoque doré.

MRSA

 

La capacité du staphylocoque doré à devenir plus résistant à la quasi-totalité des catégories d'antimicrobiens utilisés pour les traitements, tant chez les animaux que chez l'homme, constitue un obstacle majeur dans le traitement des infections dont il est responsable. L'acquisition d'une résistance aux bêta-lactamines est probablement l'exemple le plus frappant et le plus important. Ce phénomène induit d'énormes problèmes de santé, chez l'homme et l'animal.

 

Le premier antibiotique jamais utilisé, la pénicilline, appartient au groupe très vaste, des bêta-lactamines. Ces agents antimicrobiens se lient aux protéines de liaison à la pénicilline (penicillin-binding protein - PBP), des enzymes indispensables à la construction et à l'entretien de la paroi cellulaire de la bactérie. En raison de cette liaison, ces PLP sont inhibées, ce qui abîme la paroi cellulaire, provoque la lyse de la cellule, suivie de la mort de celle-ci.

 

Toutefois, très vite après la première utilisation de la pénicilline au début des années 1940, des souches de staphylocoque doré résistant à cette antibiotique ont été observées. On a découvert que cette résistance était due à la production de pénicillinases ou bêta-lactamases.

 

Aujourd'hui, plus de 90 % des isolats staphylococciques humains produisent des pénicillinases, quel que soit l'environnement clinique. En revanche, ce type de résistance ne paraît rarement dans les souches provenant de mammite bovine et dans les infections chez le lapin. Ces souches isolées chez ces espèces animales restent momentanément très sensibles à toutes les antibiotiques, y compris les antibiotiques bêta-lactamases.

 

Pour contrer la production de bêta-lactamases, on a mis au point des bêta-lactamines résistant à la bêta-lactamase. Le premier agent de cette classe, la méthicilline, une pénicilline semi-synthétique, a été introduit dans la pratique clinique en 1959. Toutefois, comme ce fut le cas avec la pénicilline, rapidement après l'introduction de la méthicilline, les premiers staphylocoques résistant à cet antibiotique ont été découverts et les premiers cas d'infections impliquant le staphylocoque aureus résistant à la méthicilline (MRSA) ont été rapportés. La résistance à la méthicilline est provoquée par l'expression d'une protéine de liaison à la pénicilline alternative, appelée PBP2a ou PBP2'. Contrairement aux PBP originales du staphylocoque doré, la PBP2a a une très faible affinité pour toutes les bêta-lactamines, de telle sorte que la résistance des MRSA se fait contre toutes les antibiotiques bêta-lactamases.

 

On a découvert que le gène mecA est le gène codant pour la PBP2a. Ce gène est localisé sur un élément génétique mobile appelé cassette chromosomique mec du staphylocoque (SCCmec), qui se trouve intégré au chromosome.

 

L'élément SCCmec se compose de deux groupes principaux de gènes : le groupe mec et le groupe ccr. Compte tenu de leur structure, ces groupes sont classés respectivement dans différentes classes et différents types. Sur la base de la classe de groupe mec et du type de groupe ccr présents, les éléments SCCmec sont répartis dans différents types de SCCmec.

 

De plus, le niveau de résistance est influencé par des facteurs environnementaux, avec pour conséquence la nature hétérogène de la résistance à la méthicilline. Cela peut engendrer des problèmes au niveau de la détection phénotypique de la résistance.

 

RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • DIAGNOSTIC

Isolation, caractérisation (résistance aux antibiotiques, gènes de virulence, PFGE, typage Spa, MLST)

  • RECHERCHE

Des études sont en cours concernant l'épidémiologie des MRSA chez les animaux, l'interaction in vitro et in vivo hôte-pathogène ainsi que des alternatives dans cette lutte.

 

ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE :

Vicky Jasson

Pierre Wattiau


PUBLICATIONS CODA-CERVA :

2011

- Hallin M, De Mendonça R, Denis O, Lefort A, El Garch F, Butaye P, Hermans K, Struelens MJ. Diversity of accessory genome of human and livestock-associated ST398 methicillin resistant Staphylococcus aureus strains. Infect Genet Evol. 2011 Mar;11(2):290-9.

2010

- Vanderhaeghen W, Cerpentier T, Adriaensen C, Vicca J, Hermans K, Butaye P. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) ST398 associated with clinical and subclinical mastitis in Belgian cows. Vet Microbiol. 2010, 144(1-2):166-71

- Vanderhaeghen W, Hermans K, Haesebrouck F, Butaye P. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) in food production animals. Epidemiol Infect. 2010,138(5):606-25.

2009

- Denis O., C. Suetens, M. Hallin, B. Catry, I. Ramboer, M. Dispas, G. Willems, B. Gordts, P. Butaye, and M.J. Struelens. 2009. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus ST398 in swine farm personnel, Belgium. Emerg Infect Dis. 15:1098-1101.
- Persoons D., S. Van Hoorebeke, K. Hermans, P. Butaye, A. de Kruif, F. Haesebrouck, and J. Dewulf. 2009. Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus in poultry. Emerg Infect Dis. 15:452-453.
- Rasschaert G, W. Vanderhaeghen, I. Dewaele, N. Janez, X. Huijsdens, P. Butaye, and M. Heyndrickx. Comparison of fingerprinting methods for typing MRSA ST398. J Clin Microbiol. 2009 Aug 26. [Epub ahead of print]

2008

- Hermans, K., Lipinska, U., Denis, O., Deplano, A., Struelens, M.J., Nemati, M.; Pasmans, F., Butaye, P., Martens, A., Deprez, P., Haesebrouck, F. 2008. MRSA clone ST398-SCCmec IV as a cause of infections in an equine clinic. Vlaams Diergeneeskundig Tijdschrift, 77: 429-433.

2006

- Haesebrouck F., D. Vancraeynest, K. Hermans, B. Catry, P. Butaye, A. Decostere. 2006. Methicilline-resistente stapylococcus aureus stammen bij dieren: een gevaar voor de gezondheid van dier en mens? Vlaams Diergen. Tijdschr., 75, 254-261.