Print E-mail

Research theme : Virology

National Reference Laboratory

CODA-CERVA is the National Reference Laboratory for most viral diseases included in the list of the World Organisation for Animal health (OIE).

Laboratory Virology CODA-CERVA

Among these, the epizootic diseases (formerly list A) feature prominently, given their serious socio-economic impacts.
Among these diseases are foot-and-mounth disease, Classical swine fever, African swine fever, vesicular stomatitis, vesicular swine disease, contagious nodular dermatitis, Rift Valley fever, goat and sheep pox, bluetongue, rinderpest, peste des petits ruminants, African horse sickness, avian influenza and Newcastle disease.
Moreover, some of these diseases present zoonotic risks (i.e. transmission from animals to humans), such as avian influenza, Rift Valley fever and West Nile virus.


Development of diagnosis methods

Research is focused primarily on developing direct and indirect methods of diagnosis, identification and molecular typing. The tests produced will be used at CODA-CERVA or at screening centres.


Diagnosis of enzootic diseases (IBR, BVD, Aujeszky disease, etc) is performed at accreditated laboratories under CODA-CERVA supervision, whereas laboratory diagnosis of epizootic diseases is carried out only at CODA-CERVA. The development of new methods aims at integrated diagnosis of a pathogenic agent with cross-reacting viruses.
Furthermore, the diagnosis must allow the discrimination between infected animals and vaccinated animals when implementing a vaccination strategy. This strategy as applied to foot-and-mouth disease is currently being tested for classical swine fever, avian influenza and bluetongue.


For over 10 years, CODA-CERVA has been developing cutting-edge techniques in avian immunology, notably for measuring cell-mediated immunity. Such still-increasing specificity makes CODA-CERVA the partner of choice in national and European research programmes.


Prophylaxis of epizootic viral diseases

Prophylaxis of epizootic viral diseases is the second important area of research at CODA-CERVA. Laboratory Virology CODA-CERVA
This consists in developing, assessing and validating new methods of combating these highly contagious agents. CODA-CERVA is active in the field of vaccinology for foot-and-mouth disease (correlation between antigen levels and protection), classical swine fever (development in validating a new marker vaccine) and avian virology (applying for a patent for in-ovo NDV vaccine, evaluation of avian influenza vaccines).
In collaboration with KUL's Rega Institute and its spin off Okapi Sciences, the CODA-CERVA develops effective and selective anti-viral molecules that delay the spread of an epizootic and that can be combined with an emergency vaccination programme.

 


Recent, present and future activites, activites

The last few years have been notable for significant progress in the fight against epizootic and exotic diseases.

 

During the summer of 2006, bluetongue made its appearance in this country, the Netherlands and Germany. Our laboratory was the first to isolate and describe this virus, which had never been found at such latitudes. For CODA-CERVA, this success was the fruit of a preparedness of several years facing this new danger.

 

We have since been developing high throughput automated molecular detection methods in order to make our services even more high-performing for regulatory authorities.

 

Our work also focused on analysing this new epidemic with regard to its epidemiology and risk-analysis, also with regard to analysing the molecular characteristics of this serotype 8 virus. This work takes place in the context of international scientific collaborations, bringing together key players in this field.

 

Laboratory Virology CODA-CERVAAvian Influenza has been a major concern and interest for the various surveillance programmes organised by the Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain (FASFC) and for the numerous national and international research programmes aiming at the improvement of the methods of detection and typing, but also at the development of effective control methods.

 

Developing new fighting methods has also been an important issue in classical swine fever in relation to branded vaccines for wild boar and anti-virals, which forms a new step in early protection of suidae, awaiting the onset of an immune response after emergency vaccination.

 

In global terms, many molecular tests have been developed, validated, implemented and approved for the detection and/or typing of various viral agents.

 

These developments enable CODA-CERVA to respond even more rapidly and accurately to the increasingly diverse demands made by regulatory authorities and by the sector as a whole.

Imprimer Envoyer

Thème de recherche: Virologie

Laboratoire National de Référence

Le CODA-CERVA est Laboratoire National de Référence pour l'ensemble des maladies virales reprises dans les listes de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé animale (OIE).

Laboratoire virologie CODA-CERVA

Parmi celles-ci les maladies épizootiques (ancienne liste A) occupent une place prépondérante, étant donné leur lourd impact socio-économique.
Il s'agit en premier lieu de
  • la stomatite vésiculaire,
  • la dermatite nodulaire contagieuse,
  • la peste bovine,

De plus, certaines de ces maladies présentent un risque zoonotique (transmission de l'animal à l'homme) comme l'influenza aviaire, la fièvre de la vallée du Rift et le virus West Nile.


Développement de méthodes de diagnostic

Les recherches sont focalisées en premier lieu sur le développement de méthodes de diagnostic direct et indirect, d'identification et de typage moléculaire. Les tests développés seront utilisés au CODA-CERVA ou dans les centres de dépistage.

 

En effet, le diagnostic des maladies enzootiques (IBR, BVD, maladie d'Aujeszky, ...) est effectué par les laboratoire agréés sous la supervision du CODA-CERVA alors que le diagnostic de laboratoire des maladies épizootiques est uniquement réalisé au CODA-CERVA. Le développement de méthodes vise un diagnostic intégré d'un agent pathogène avec les virus susceptibles de générer des réactions croisées.
De plus, ce diagnostic doit permettre, en cas d'implémentation d'une stratégie de vaccination, de distinguer les animaux infectés des animaux vaccinés. Cette stratégie appliquée en fièvre aphteuse est actuellement testée pour la peste porcine, l'influenza aviaire et pour la fièvre catarrhale ovine ou bluetongue.


Depuis plus de 10 ans le CODA-CERVA développe des techniques de pointe en immunologie aviaire, en particulier par la mesure de l'immunité à médiation cellulaire. Cette spécificité toujours renforcée fait du CODA-CERVA un partenaire de choix dans les programmes de recherches Européens et nationaux.


Prophylaxie des maladies virales épizootiques

La prophylaxie des maladies virales épizootiques est le deuxième sujet d'importance pour la recherche au CODA-CERVA.Laboratoire virologie CODA-CERVA
Il s'agit de développer, d'évaluer de valider des nouvelles méthodes de lutte contre ces agents fort contagieux. Le CODA-CERVA est actif dans le domaine de la vaccinologie pour la Fièvre aphteuse (corrélation entre la charge antigénique et la protection), la peste porcine (développement en validation d'un nouveau vaccin marqué) et la virologie aviaire (dépôt d'un brevet de vaccin NDV in ovo, évaluation de vaccin Influenza aviaire).
En collaboration avec l'Institut Rega de la KUL et sa spin off Okapi Sciences, le CODA-CERVA travaille au développement de molécules anti-virales efficaces et sélectives permettant de ralentir l'évolution d'épizooties et qui peuvent être combinées avec un programme de vaccination d'urgence.

Activités récentes, actuelles et futures

Les dernières années ont été marquées par de grands progrès dans la lutte contre les maladies épizootiques et exotiques.

 

Durant l'été 2006, le virus de la fièvre catarrhale ovine ou bluetongue a fait son apparition dans notre pays, aux Pays-Bas en en Allemagne. Notre laboratoire était le premier à isoler et caractériser ce virus qui n'avait jamais été rencontré à de telles latitudes. Cette réussite pour le CODA-CERVA est la conséquence de notre préparation depuis plusieurs années à affronter ce nouveau danger.

 

Nous avons par la suite développé l'automatisation des méthodes de détection moléculaire pour rendre des services encore plus performants envers nos Autorités de tutelle.

 

Nos travaux se sont aussi focalisés sur l'analyse de cette nouvelle épidémie, tant ou niveau épidémiologique et d'analyse de risques qu'au niveau de l'analyse des caractéristiques moléculaires de ce virus de sérotype 8. Ces travaux se sont déroulés dans le contexte de collaborations scientifiques internationales réunissant les acteurs-clés de cette problématique.

 

Laboratoire virologie CODA-CERVAL'influenza aviaire a été un sujet de grandes préoccupations tant un niveau des différents programmes de surveillance organisés par l'Agence Fédérale pour la Sécurité de la Chaîne Alimentaire (AFSCA ) qu'au niveau des nombreux programmes de recherches nationaux et internationaux sur l'amélioration des moyens de détection et de typage et sur le développement de moyens de lutte efficaces.

 

Le développement de nouveaux moyens de lutte a été aussi un sujet important en peste porcine classique pour ce qui est des vaccins marqués pour les sangliers et des anti-viraux qui constituent une nouvelle étape dans la protection précoce de suidés en attendant le développement d'une réponse immunitaire suite à la vaccination d'urgence.

 

De manière globale, de nombreux tests moléculaires ont été développés, validés, implémentés et accrédités pour la détection et/ou le typage de différents agents viraux.

 

Ces développements permettent au CODA-CERVA de répondre encore plus rapidement et précisément aux demandes de plus en plus variées des Autorités de tutelle et du secteur.