Print E-mail


Cadmium - Cd

GENERAL INFORMATION :

Cadmium metal : N° CAS : 7440-43-9

- atomic number : 48 - atomic weight : 112,41

- melting point : 320,9 °C - boiling point : 765 °C (769 °C)

 

IN A FEW LINES :

Cadmium is a white, soft metal belonging to the so-called group of heavy metals.

Cadmium (Cd)

 

It is a natural element that is present in soil, water and air due to the abrasion of rocks, the erosion of soils, forest fires and volcanic eruptions. In some areas, cadmium is enriched in the environment due to the application of phosphate fertilizers or other anthropogenic activities. Although cadmium ores exist, cadmium is generally produced as a by-product from zinc production. Smaller amounts of cadmium are produced during the production of other non-ferrous metals such as lead and copper.

 

Cadmium is mainly utilized in rechargeable nickel-cadmium batteries, in solar cells, electronic applications, as pigments in plastics, glasses, ceramics or artistic paint, and it is also used to prevent ultraviolet degradation of certain plastics or to provide coatings to metals and alloys to make them corrosion-resistant, particularly in alkaline and seawater environments.

 

In Belgium, several non-ferrous metal production sites were developed in previous decades, with several zinc and copper smelters being built in the northern part of the country (Campine region). An adverse consequence of these activities is the mainly historical, local emission into air, water and soil of large amounts of contaminants such as cadmium.

 

The major route of cadmium intake by non-smokers is through the ingestion of food. This is because cadmium is present in trace amounts in foodstuffs: cadmium that is present in soil is readily taken up by vegetables and fodder crops, which are in turn used to feed animals or consumed directly by humans. For smokers, however, the major source of cadmium exposure is cigarette smoke. In the (human) body, cadmium accumulates mainly in the liver and kidneys. Cadmium (Cd)

 

At high levels, it can reach a critical threshold and can lead to serious kidney failure and increased risks of bone fractures.

Classification according to Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of 16 December 2008:

Carc. 1B; H350: May cause cancer

Muta. 2; H341: Suspected of causing genetic defects

Repr. 2: H 361fd: Suspected of damaging fertility or the unborn child

STOT RE 1; H372*: Causes damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure

Acute Tox. 2*; H330: fatal if inhaled

Aquatic Acute 1; H400: Very toxic to aquatic life

Aquatic Chronic 1; H410: Very toxic to aquatic life with long lasting effects

 

Reference: Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 december 2008 on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, amending and repealing Directives 67/548/EEC and 1999/45/EC, and amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Official Journal of the European Union L353/1. http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:353:0001:1355:EN:PDF


NORMS AND LEGISLATION :

Maximum levels for cadmium in foodstuffs

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:173:0006:0009:EN:PDF

COMMISSION REGULATION (EC) No 629/2008 of 2 July 2008 amending Regulation (EC) No 1881/2006 setting maximum levels for certain contaminants in foodstuffs.

 

Maximum cadmium content in products intended for animal feed.

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CELEX:32002L0032:EN:NOT

DIRECTIVE 2002/32/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 7 May 2002 on undesirable substances in animal feed.

 

Tolerable human intake levels

The Joint FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)/WHO (World Health Organization) Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) evaluated cadmium for the fourth time in 2001 where it maintained the Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intake (PTWI) of 7 µg/kg body weight. The WHO PTWI is based on a biomarker of toxicity (renal tubular dysfunction). In June 2010, the Joint FAO/WHO Committee on Food Safety (JECFA) reassessed Cadmium on the evidence provided by new epidemiological studies available. Given the high half-life of cadmium in the human body, the Committee deemed it preferable to determine a monthly threshold for Cadmium. Thus the PTWI of 7µg per kg of body weight was done away with and replaced by a PTMI (provisional tolerable monthly intake) of 25 µg per kg of body weight.

http://www.inchem.org/documents/jecfa/jecmono/v46je01.htm

 

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) adopted an opinion in January 2009 establishing a new tolerable weekly intake level for cadmium (TWI) of 2.5 µg/kg body weight. The risk of adverse effects for groups that have exposure levels above the TWI is very low because the TWI is not based on actual kidney damage but on an early indicator of changes in kidney function suggesting possible kidney damage later in life. The EFSA's TWI value is lower than WHO's PTMI in spite of the fact that both values are based on the same epidemiological study. Nevertheless, the EFSA confirmed its TWI of 2.5 µg per kg of body weight in January 2011.

http://www.efsa.europa.eu/EFSA/efsa_locale-1178620753812_1211902396126.htm

http://efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/1975.htm


ROLE OF CODA-CERVA:

  • RESEARCH

The Trace Elements Unit at CODA-CERVA has a long history in trace element analysis. Cadmium (Cd)

The current research projects concerning cadmium are emphazised on

(1) the determination of cadmium concentrations in crops for human consumption (potatoes, carrots, scorzonera, ...), in animal fodder crops (maize, pasture grass, silage grass) and in bovine tissues (meat, kidneys, liver), and

(2) the transfer of cadmium from different environmental compartments (soil, water, air) through the food chain.

 

Field sampling of crops for human consumption started in 2001 and continued over the years. This project focuses mainly on uncontaminated fields and studies the soil-plant transfer of cadmium.

 

In 2005, kidneys, liver and meat tissue of 150 bovine animals were sampled and analyzed for cadmium. The samples were collected on the one hand in three metal contaminated areas and on the other hand in rural areas away from trace element point sources, so-called reference areas.

 

Farms where the animals had resided for more than 18 months, were contacted and the farmers were asked to further participate voluntarily. In total, 53 farmers responded positively and the corresponding farms were visited in spring, summer and autumn in the period 2006-2007.

 

Fresh pasture grass, silage grass, hay, maize and other locally produced feed were collected at the farms. Well water and surface water were sampled if they served as a source of drinking water in the stable or in the pastures. Cadmium content was determined in all samples.

 

With this information, food chain transfer models were derived for cadmium.

 

  • PRESTATIONS OF SERVICES :

The Trace Element Unit at CODA-CERVA is mainly dedicated to scientific research and services in the field of food safety, public and animal health. It provides analytical facilities for third parties by the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed. This activity is accredited according to the European Quality norm ISO 17025.

 

CODA-CERVA is the Belgian National Reference Laboratory (NRL) for the determination of trace elements in food and animal feed.


TEAM OF SCIENTISTS :

Nadia Waegeneers

Ann Ruttens

Karlien Cheyns


CODA-CERVA PUBLICATIONS :

2013

- Ruttens A., Waegeneers N., Witters N., De Temmerman L., Vangronsveld J. Controlling Cd food chain transfer in historically contaminated areas: the Belgian Campine case. Proceedings of the 8th International Cadmium Conference, Kunming, China, 10-11/11/2011. Organisation/publication by the International Cadmium Association (ICdA).

2012

- De Temmerman L., Ruttens A., Waegeneers N., 2012. Impact of atmospheric deposition of As, Cd and Pb on their concentration in carrot and celeriac. Environmental Pollution, 166, pp. 187-195

2011

- Waegeneers, N., Ruttens, A. and De Temmerman, L. 2011. A dynamic model to calculate cadmium concentrations in bovine tissues from basic soil characteristics. Science of the Total Environment, 409. pp 2815-2823.

2010

-T. Nawrot, J. Staessen, H. Roels, E. Munters, A. Cuypers, T. Richart, A, Ruttens, K. Smeets, H. Clijsters, J. Vangronsveld, 2010, Cadmium exposure in the population: from health risks to strategies of prevention. Biometals, 23, 5, 769-782

- Vromman V, Waegeneers N, Cornelis C, De Boosere I, Van Holderbeke M, Vinkx C, Smolders E, Huyghebaert A, Pussemier L.
Dietary cadmium intake by the Belgian adult population. Food Addit Contam Part A Chem Anal Control Expo Risk Assess. 2010 Dec;27(12):1665-73

2009

- Waegeneers, N., Pizzolon, J.-C., Hoenig, M. and De Temmerman, L. 2009. Accumulation of trace elements in cattle from rural and industrial areas in Belgium. Food Additives and Contaminants 26 : 326-332.
- Waegeneers, N., Pizzolon, J.-C., Hoenig, M. and De Temmerman, L. 2009. The European maximum level for cadmium in bovine kidneys is in Belgium only realistic for cattle up to two-years of age. Food Additives and Contaminants. 26 : 1239-1248

- De Temmerman L., Hoenig M. Transfert d'ETM toxiques des sols arables vers les pommes de terre, le froment et l'épeautre., 2009, 149-161. Chapitre 7 dans Contaminations métalliques des agrosystèmes et écosystèmes péri-industriels. Coordinateurs: Cambier Ph, Schvartz C., Van Oort F.

2008

- Vromman, V., Saegerman, C., Pussemier, L., Huyghebaert, A., De Temmerman, L., Pizzolon, J.-C. and Waegeneers, N. 2008. Cadmium in the food chain near non-ferrous metal production sites. Food Additives and Contaminants 25 : 293-301.

2007

- Harcz, P., De Temmerman, L., De Voghel, S., Waegeneers, N., Wilmart, O., Vromman, V., Schmit, J.-F., Moons, E., Van Peteghem, C., De Saeger, S., Schneider, Y.-J., Larondelle, Y. and Pussemier, L. 2007. Contaminants in organically and conventionally produced winter wheat (Triticum aestivum) in Belgium. Food Additives and Contaminants 24 : 713-720.

2005

- Pizzolon, J.-C. and Hoenig, M. 2005. Analyse des échantillons alimentaires par ICP-MS. Développement et routine : où sont les différences ? Canadian Journal of Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy 50 : 221-227.

2004

- De Temmerman, L. and Hoenig, M. 2004. Biomonitoring lead and cadmium deposition. Journal of Atmospheric Chemistry 49 : 121-135.

2003

- De Temmerman, L., Vanongeval, L., Boon, W., Hoenig, M. and Geypens, M. 2003. Heavy metal content of arable soils in Northern Belgium. Water, Air and Soil Pollution 148 : 61-76.

Imprimer Envoyer

Cadmium - Cd

DESCRIPTION GÉNÉRALE DE L'ÉLÉMENT :

Cadmium métallique : N° CAS : 7440-43-9

- numéro atomique : 48 - masse atomique : 112,41

- point de fusion : 320,9 °C - point d'ébullition : 765 °C (769 °C)

 

EN QUELQUES LIGNES:

Le cadmium est un métal blanc mou appartenant à ce que l'on appelle le groupe des métaux lourds.

Cadmium (Cd)

 

C'est un élément naturel qui est présent dans le sol, l'eau et l'air en raison de l'abrasion des rochers, de l'érosion des sols, des incendies de forêts et des éruptions volcaniques. Dans certaines régions, le cadmium s'enrichit dans l'environnement en raison de l'application d'engrais aux phosphates ou d'autres activités anthropogéniques. Bien que des minéraux de cadmium existent, le cadmium est produit en général en tant que produit secondaire de la production de zinc. De faibles quantités de cadmium sont produites pendant la production d'autres métaux non ferreux tels que le plomb et le cuivre.

 

Le cadmium est utilisé principalement dans les piles rechargeables nickel-cadmium, les piles solaires, les applications électroniques, en tant que pigments dans les matières plastiques, les verres, les céramiques ou les peintures pour artistes et est aussi utilisé pour empêcher la dégradation par les ultraviolets de certaines matières plastiques ou pour fournir des revêtements aux métaux et aux alliages afin de leur conférer une résistance à la corrosion, en particulier dans les environnements alcalins et marins.

 

En Belgique, on a développé, dans les décennies antérieures, plusieurs sites de production de métaux non ferreux, plusieurs fours de fusion de zinc et de cuivre étant en cours de construction dans la partie nord du pays (région de la Campine). Une conséquence indésirable de ces activités est l'émission locale, principalement sur le long terme, dans l'air, l'eau et le sol, de grandes quantités de contaminants tels que le cadmium.

 

La voie principale d'absorption du cadmium par les non-fumeurs est constituée par l'ingestion de nourriture. Ceci est dû au fait que le cadmium est présent à l'état de traces dans les produits alimentaires : le cadmium qui est présent dans le sol est facilement absorbé par les légumes et les cultures fourragères, qui sont, à leur tour, utilisés pour nourrir les animaux ou qui sont consommés directement par les humains. Pour les fumeurs, toutefois, la source majeure d'exposition au cadmium est la fumée de cigarettes. Dans le corps (humain), le cadmium s'accumule principalement dans le foie et les reins.Cadmium (Cd)

 

À des niveaux élevés, il peut atteindre un seuil critique et peut conduire à une défaillance rénale sérieuse et à des risques accrus de fractures osseuses.

Classification conformément à la Réglementation (CE) No 1272/2008 du 16 décembre 2008 :

Carcinogène. 1B ; H350 : Peut provoquer un cancer.

Mutagène. 2 ; H341 : Susceptible de provoquer des défauts génétiques

Repr. 2 : H 361fd : Susceptible d'endommager la fertilité ou de porter atteinte à l'enfant en gestation

STOT RE 1 ; H372*: Provoque des lésions aux organes à la suite d'une exposition prolongée ou répétée

Tox. aiguë 2*; H330 : fatal en cas d'inhalation

Tox. aiguë en milieu aquatique 1 ; H400 : Très toxique vis-à-vis de la vie aquatique

Tox. aquatique chronique 1 ; H410 : Très toxique vis-à-vis de la vie aquatique avec des effets de longue durée

 

Référence : Réglementation (CE) No 1272/2008 du Parlement Européen et du Conseil Européen du 16 décembre 2008 sur la classification, l'étiquetage et l'emballage de substances et de mélanges, mettant à jour et abrogeant les Directives 67/548/CEE et 1999/45/CE, et mettant à jour la Réglementation (CE) No 1907/2006. Journal Officiel de l'Union Européenne L353/1. http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:353:0001:1355:EN:PDF


NORMES ET LÉGISLATION:

Niveaux maximaux de cadmium dans les produits alimentaires

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2008:173:0006:0009:EN:PDF

RÉGLEMENTATION DE LA COMMISSION (CE) No 629/2008 du 2 juillet 2008, mettant à jour la Réglementation (CE) No 1881/2006 fixant des niveaux maximaux pour certains contaminants dans les produits alimentaires.

 

Teneur maximale en cadmium dans les produits destinés à l'alimentation des animaux

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CELEX:32002L0032:EN:NOT

DIRECTIVE 2002/32/CE du Parlement Européen et du Conseil Européen du 7 mai 2002 sur les substances indésirables dans les aliments pour animaux.

 

Niveaux d'absorption humains tolérables

Le Comité conjoint d'experts sur les additifs alimentaires de la FAO (Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture)/OMS (Organisation mondiale de la Santé) [Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA)] a procédé à l'évaluation du cadmium à la quatrième reprise en 2001 et a maintenu l'absorption hebdomadaire tolérable provisoire (Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intake ou PTWI) de 7 µg/kg de poids corporel. La valeur PTWI de l'OMS est basée sur un bio marqueur de toxicité (dysfonction rénale tubulaire). En juin 2010, de nouvelles études épidémiologiques étant disponibles, le JECFA a réévalué le Cadmium. Etant donné le temps de demi-vie élevé du cadmium dans le corps humain, le Comité a jugé préférable de déterminer un seuil mensuel pour le Cadmium. Ainsi, le PWTI de 7µg par kilo de poids corporel fut supprimé et remplacé par un PMTI (dose mensuelle tolérable provisoire) de 25 µg par kilo de poids corporel.

 

L'Autorité européenne de sécurité en matière de nourriture (EFSA - Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments) a adopté une opinion en janvier 2009 établissant un nouveau niveau d'absorption hebdomadaire tolérable pour le cadmium (Tolerable Weekly Intake ou TWI) de 2,5 µg/kg de poids corporel. Le risque d'effets indésirables pour les groupes qui ont des niveaux d'exposition au-delà de la valeur TWI est très faible parce que la valeur TWI n'est pas basée sur les lésions rénales effectives mais sur un indicateur précoce de modifications dans la fonction rénale suggérant des lésions rénales éventuelles plus tard dans la vie. La valeur TWI de l'EFSA est inférieure au PTMI de l'OMS malgré le fait que les deux valeurs soient basées sur la même étude épidémiologique. Néanmoins, l'EFSA a confirmé son TWI de 2,5 µg par kilo de poids corporel en janvier 2011.

http://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/1975.htm

RÔLE DU CODA-CERVA :

  • RECHERCHE

L'Unité Eléments Traces du CODA-CERVA possède une longue expérience en ce qui concerne l'analyse des éléments à l'état de traces.Cadmium (Cd)

Les projets de recherche actuels concernant le cadmium sont axés sur :

(1) la détermination des concentrations de cadmium dans les récoltes pour consommation humaine (pommes de terre, carottes, scorzonera, ...), dans les récoltes de cultures fourragères (maïs, herbe de pâturage, herbe de silo) et dans les tissus bovins (viande, reins, foie), et

(2) le transfert du cadmium provenant de zones environnementales différentes (sol, eau, air) à travers la chaîne alimentaire.

 

L'échantillonnage sur site des récoltes pour la consommation humaine a commencé en 2001 et s'est poursuivi au cours des années. Ce projet se concentre principalement sur les champs non contaminés et étudie le transfert sol-plantes du cadmium.

 

En 2005, les reins, le foie et les tissus de 150 bovins ont été échantillonnés et analysés en ce qui concerne le cadmium. Les échantillons ont été collectés, d'une part, dans trois zones contaminées par des métaux et, d'autre part, dans des zones rurales à l'écart des sources ponctuelles d'éléments-trace, dites zones de référence.

 

Des fermes où des animaux avaient résidé pendant plus de 18 mois ont été contactées et les fermiers ont été priés de poursuivre leur participation volontairement. Au total, 53 fermiers ont émis une réponse positive et les fermes correspondantes ont été visitées au printemps, en été et en automne dans la période 2006-2007.

 

De l'herbe de pâturage fraîche, de l'herbe de silo, du foin, du maïs et d'autres cultures fourragères produites localement ont été collectées dans ces fermes. L'eau de puits et l'eau de surface ont été échantillonnées si elles servaient de source d'eau potable dans les étables ou les pâturages. Une teneur en Cadmium a été détectée dans tous les échantillons.

 

À partir de ces informations, on a dérivé des modèles de transfert dans la chaîne alimentaire pour le cadmium.

 

  • PRESTATION DE SERVICES :

L'Unité Eléments Traces du CODA-CERVA est dédiée principalement à la recherche scientifique et aux prestations de service dans le domaine de la sécurité alimentaire et de la santé publique et vétérinaire. Elle fournit des installations analytiques à des tiers pour la détermination d'éléments à l'état de traces dans la nourriture et les aliments pour animaux. Cette activité est accréditée conformément à la norme de qualité européenne ISO 17025.

 

Le CODA-CERVA est le laboratoire de référence nationale belge (LNR) pour la détermination des éléments traces dans la nourriture et les aliments pour animaux.


ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE :

Nadia Waegeneers

Ann Ruttens

Karlien Cheyns


PUBLICATIONS CODA-CERVA :

2013
- Ruttens A., Waegeneers N., Witters N., De Temmerman L., Vangronsveld J. Controlling Cd food chain transfer in historically contaminated areas: the Belgian Campine case. Proceedings of the 8th International Cadmium Conference, Kunming, China, 10-11/11/2011. Organisation/publication by the International Cadmium Association (ICdA).

2012
- De Temmerman L., Ruttens A., Waegeneers N., 2012. Impact of atmospheric deposition of As, Cd and Pb on their concentration in carrot and celeriac. Environmental Pollution, 166, pp. 187-195

2011
- Waegeneers, N., Ruttens, A. and De Temmerman, L. 2011. A dynamic model to calculate cadmium concentrations in bovine tissues from basic soil characteristics. Science of the Total Environment, 409. pp 2815-2823.

2010

- T. Nawrot, J. Staessen, H. Roels, E. Munters, A. Cuypers, T. Richart, A, Ruttens, K. Smeets, H. Clijsters, J. Vangronsveld, 2010, Cadmium exposure in the population: from health risks to strategies of prevention. Biometals, 23, 5, 769-782,
- Vromman V, Waegeneers N, Cornelis C, De Boosere I, Van Holderbeke M, Vinkx C, Smolders E, Huyghebaert A, Pussemier L.Dietary cadmium intake by the Belgian adult population.
Food Addit Contam Part A Chem Anal Control Expo Risk Assess. 2010 Dec;27(12):1665-73

2009

- Waegeneers, N., Pizzolon, J.-C., Hoenig, M. and De Temmerman, L. 2009. Accumulation of trace elements in cattle from rural and industrial areas in Belgium. Food Additives and Contaminants 26 : 326-332.
- Waegeneers, N., Pizzolon, J.-C., Hoenig, M. and De Temmerman, L. 2009. The European maximum level for cadmium in bovine kidneys is in Belgium only realistic for cattle up to two-years of age. Food Additives and Contaminants. 26 : 1239-1248

- De Temmerman L., Hoenig M. Transfert d'ETM toxiques des sols arables vers les pommes de terre, le froment et l'épeautre., 2009, 149-161
Chapitre 7 dans Contaminations métalliques des agrosystèmes et écosystèmes péri-industriels. Coordinateurs: Cambier Ph, Schvartz C., Van Oort F.

2008

- Vromman, V., Saegerman, C., Pussemier, L., Huyghebaert, A., De Temmerman, L., Pizzolon, J.-C. and Waegeneers, N. 2008. Cadmium in the food chain near non-ferrous metal production sites. Food Additives and Contaminants 25 : 293-301.

2007

- Harcz, P., De Temmerman, L., De Voghel, S., Waegeneers, N., Wilmart, O., Vromman, V., Schmit, J.-F., Moons, E., Van Peteghem, C., De Saeger, S., Schneider, Y.-J., Larondelle, Y. and Pussemier, L. 2007. Contaminants in organically and conventionally produced winter wheat (Triticum aestivum) in Belgium. Food Additives and Contaminants 24 : 713-720.

2005

- Pizzolon, J.-C. and Hoenig, M. 2005. Analyse des échantillons alimentaires par ICP-MS. Développement et routine : où sont les différences ? Canadian Journal of Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy 50 : 221-227.

2004

- De Temmerman, L. and Hoenig, M. 2004. Biomonitoring lead and cadmium deposition. Journal of Atmospheric Chemistry 49 : 121-135.

2003

- De Temmerman, L., Vanongeval, L., Boon, W., Hoenig, M. and Geypens, M. 2003. Heavy metal content of arable soils in Northern Belgium. Water, Air and Soil Pollution 148 : 61-76.